The Fleshmelt Project pt.2 - disparate influences

in #art2 years ago

After creating the fleshy red mother and using her in six generations of AI style transfer over a photobash collage (see Fleshmelt Project pt.1), I wanted to bring some of my older art and photography into the fleshmelt project.

Sixth generation fleshy red mother result X bull kelp style X psychedelic ink drawing style

image.png

I had been using my photography of bull kelp tangles washed up on the beach for several art projects immediately prior to beginning work on the fleshmelt project. I decided to use one of my kelp photos as a style image in AI style transfer (deepdreamgenerator.com / DeepStyle v.2), using the sixth generation fleshy red mother result as base image. For reference, here is the sixth generation fleshy red mother result (shared previously in pt.1):

image.png

Here is my photo of bull kelp used as style image:

image.png

Just for fun

here is one of the pieces of art I was creating from my bull kelp photography prior to starting the fleshmelt series:
image.png

Fun fact, I tokenized a 4k resolution version of the above kelp art 11 months ago right here on Hive on the NFT Showroom. The list price of 200 Hive was a lot less in USD terms back then 😅. The full res 4k version has never been posted online anywhere and the 1/1 NFT comes with full commercial rights to use the image... Just sayin'...

Back to the fleshmelt - raw kelp style output

image.png

This is pretty cool, you can still see the shapes of the fleshy red landscape, and if you look carefully you can even see a few shapes from the original faces in the photobash collage... and yet it is clearly a mass of writhing kelp-tentacles :)

Another Input - psychedelic ink drawing

Setting the kelp style output aside for a moment, I used the sixth generation fleshy red mother result as base image with an old psychedelic pen & ink drawing of mine as the style image.

Old Psychedelic Ink Drawing - Out of the light came darkness (and all at once I could see)

I drew this back in 2000 when I was growing psychedelic mushrooms in a trailer in Alaska, and my art... uh... reflected that LOL I wrote a whole post about this piece if you are curious, there is a lot of hidden imagery.

image.png

Raw output psychedelic ink drawing style w/ 6th gen fleshy red result as base image

image.png

I combined the above result with the kelp style result to make the first image I shared in the post farther up.

Fungus Forest style

Setting the above results aside for now, I continued pulling in disparate influences from my art history. Still using the 6th generation fleshy red result as base image, I used the cover art for my self-published old school D&D adventure The Fungus Forest as style image.

image.png

If you play D&D, this is an old school / rules light adventure that would be easily adapted to 5th ed (or any other game really). I co-wrote the adventure with my friend Lee Reynoldson and I did all the art and layout. You can check it out for free, it is a pay-what-you-want .pdf download so just put "$0.00" in the box and you can download for free: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/178717/The-Fungus-Forest

Raw output Fungus Forest style w/6th gen fleshy red result as base image

image.png

I combined the above result with the kelp style result to make this:

image.png

Next I did a series of quick paint / style transfer generations - painting on top of that result a bit, then another AI style transfer run with the fungus forest art as style image again, painted on top of that and another generation of AI style transfer. I ended up here:

image.png

Then I combined that back with the original weird faces photobash collage:

image.png

Next up - more fleshy red mutations

The series will continue on with another bunch of quick paints / style transfer with the fleshy red mother as style image. Things are going to get a lot weirder in the upcoming generations of the fleshmelt project, believe it or not :)

Stay weird Hive

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love this @carlgnash

I think it would be cool if there was a Hive NFT book option. I know your book is priced perfect already.^^ I never played D & D but my brother liked it and told me some things about it.

The art here is similar to the art I liked on record albums as a kid but now it is alive with AI blending. I have used dreem generator to create images. It's fun but it takes some time. No one really knows how much goes behind the scenes in creating even one picture.

Enjoy your weekend

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
mineopoly tipped carlgnash (x1)
@tygertyger(1/9) tipped @carlgnash (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

!PIZZA 🙃