Silicone: It's Not Just for Tits Anymore!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

 
Did you know you can add silicone, or rather silicone oil, to your pouring cup? No, it won't get you a D-cup that way, but the result is still pretty stunning! Yesterday I blogged about my pouring mix of

  • 100 parts PVA glue,
  • 30 parts artist's paint,
  • 40 parts water.

 

 

Today, we add a few drops of siclicone oil to the paint, stir it up lightly, pour it on a canvas, and – voilà! – beautiful, organic cell structures are popping up all over the place! This cell creation can be reinforced by gently heating up the paint with a blowtorch, which also pops any bubbles that may be trapped below the surface.
 

 

I made the pictures on this page last night. They turned out pretty good and I wish I had made a video about it! Alas, they were meant to be just rough experiments for practice, so I'll have to provide a proper video on the process at some later time. Honestly, I lucked out on the blue one, which I really like! Isn't it gorgeous? Let me know in the comments!
 

 

Please forgive the reflexes on the pictures, the paint was still wet and very shiny – and the overhead lighting in my studio (a.k.a. spare bedroom) is just merciless! Also, in the lower picture, what appears as yellow is actually metallic gold, which will only come out after the painting is dry.

Speaking of drying, acrylic pouring requires 24 hours and more to gently dry out. Force drying with fans and such only creates bumps and cracks! In my opinion the only drawback to this beautiful hobby...
 

 

Thanks for reading, and don't forget to upvote and resteem if you liked my musings. Catch you next time!
 

Sort:  

Congratulations @caro-art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yeeah itts crazy nowadays ig you like abstract art check me out @chupapic any comment is welcome ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your clickbaity headline, hon :-) As far as I can tell, you're well on your way here on Steemit. Cool pictures, too!

Thx Folker :)

Interesting technique, I have never tried !!!

You should! It's great fun and looks really unique. :)