How I Set Up my Twitch Stream - First Stream is Tonight!!

in #art6 years ago

TwitchIntro.jpg

At 8pm EST, I'll be on twitch.tv/catapanoart, drawing something cool.

I've never streamed live for an extended period of time, so it should be a roller coaster of messing up and learning from it. Anyway, for those who are unfamiliar with streaming, here's how to set one up.

Step 1. Get a broadcasting software.

In order to stream live you need a software to output the video. I am using OBS, Open Broadcaster Software. It's incredibly easy to use and with a few youtube tutorials and some trial and error you can set up a couple camera and microphone presets for when you go live.

Step. 2 Get a HD webcam.

With a quick search on google, you will find the webcam with the most bang for your buck. The Logitech C920 appears to be the best and most tested camera for streaming. You can find it for $45 USD on BestBuy or Amazon. I will be using the cam for not may face camera but the cam that will record what is going on at my drawing desk. With a little fiddling around with the placement, it was ready to go. Two tips: 1. Give the camera lots of light for better quality. and 2. Turn off auto focus and the auto-levels for the camera. You need to mess with those settings manually to get any good results. You can always get two of these cams so you can have front facing camera for your head shots.

Step 3. Plug in the Stream Key into the broadcasting settings

In order for the video to output to the right place it needs the Stream Key to connect it. For Twitch, you can go to the dashboard, then copy your Stream Key. Then paste it in the Output Settings in your broadcaster. Now when you start a streaming it will connect with Twitch and it all works.

Step 4. Manage your Page.

On Twitch there are an insane amount of options and plugins to make your channel look and feel different from the masses. Make sure you go into the Panels editor and add to your page layout even more. I plan to have Amazon links to all my tools that I use and links to all of other places to find me on the web. I have many different things I still need to set up on my page, but I am sure it will continue to be a learning experience.

I hope this post helped any of you artists who are interested in streaming. I know I was in the dark when I started looking into it . I plan to be on every Sunday at same time so stop by and chat with me. Also, I will be giving away a sketch to a lucky subscriber!

Hope everyone is having a great new year!

SteemitFollow.png


Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter
Facebook
ArtStation

Sort:  

oh you do twitch i used to do gameplays there well only one gameplay

Yea, I haven't done much, but this time I will be streaming creative.

Thanks for your article.
Check out my tutorial if you wanna know How to: Use your Android mobile device as streaming camera with OBS, using IP Webcam.