I’m really not stoked on “clients” who take a bunch of my precious time and then refuse to pay me for my work.

in #art6 years ago

Sadly it happens way too often. @terpsarmy , a smoking club in Barcelona is the most recent one. They hired me to do a graphic for them and agreed on a price. I showed them a sketch, which they approved, then I did the drawing and later the computer rendering/colouring, both which they said they loved and shared proudly on their social media.

I gave them a couple of months to pay up, but then they told me they wanted it different (more as a circular logo). So I gave them more of my scarce time to rework it to the point they were 100% satisfied. But then when I asked them to finally pay me, they now tell me they don’t like it anymore, that it’s unusable and that they won’t pay me... I was even nice enough to ask them to pay me half, to merely compensate me for all the time I invested into it and still they refuse to pay me anything at all. Giving me excuses about renovations they gotta do and disagreements with the partners, stuff that’s none of my business.. it’s just not fair.

I work hard so I can pay my rent and help my parents complete their retirement home. I like to trust people who hire me that they will pay me and I’m so sad for them when they feel they can skip on my bill, cause karma is unforgiving (I forget n forgive pretty quick though). Anyways, I’m not worried, everything will balance out in the end, as the universe takes care of me, but I’m over attracting fickle clients with no ethics. I rather be doing my own art, while keeping myself sustained, empowering worthy people.. #terpsarmy #skippingonthebill #shittyclients #unfair #karmaisabitch #nobalance

terps.jpg

Sort:  

Man that’s too bad!

You should start getting clients to pay for half up front, like a non refundable deposit. Then you will always be covered for this kind of unfavourable incident. Hope you next client sucks way less!

Yep, at least with unestablished relationships.

This sucks :( But yeah, as you say; Karma is balancing things out. If they can't afford to pay you for your marvelous art, they are probably struggling financially. And they are probably struggling financially because they lack integrity. Keep up the fantastic job you're doing, and Karma will reward you plenty! :-)

Amen to that brotha!

Yo that ain't fair man... sorry bro that sucks for sure.