The Definitive Guide To Creating Art

in #art6 years ago

The Definitive Guide To Creating Art:

There is no how-to.

There is no set of instructions.

There is no well-worn path to follow.

You can’t buy an online course.

You can’t find the answers at your community college.

You can’t cajole someone into becoming your mentor.

All the time you’ve spent focusing on how to start, where to go, and what it will look like in the end has been wasted. Instead of dwelling on outcomes that you can’t control, you can focus on creating your art.

You’ll never learn to write unless you start arranging words.

You’ll never learn to paint unless you soil a canvas.

You’ll never learn to dance unless you start moving.



Banner made by @Zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit

Sort:  

Everyone has its own kind/version of imagination. Thus, everyone is capable of doing art.

It's all about what we bring to the table as unique individuals. :D

Art is all about going with the flow. the path of non-resistance. Good read

I am glad you enjoyed it, @abmakko. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to read my post!

"You’ll never learn to paint unless you soil a canvas."

Ahh, so you've seen my attempts at painting, eh? 😂

Excellent, and very valid points, my dear man. Happy creating!

Ha! You and me both. I paint just for fun. Not even interested in entertaining the idea of getting better!

Thanks, @Traciyork!

LOL! And you're very welcome, @chrismccron!

Yes all it takes is you taking the first step. Simple truth yet powerful ;)

Hi, @IAmJadeline!

We can make it so complex though, eh?

You have seriously inspired my #TrySomethingTuesday post! I have been hemming and hawing... wanting to create, to TRY this painting idea i've had for a while (like years!) but I always talk myself out of it because I'm not great at putting the paint down in a way that I like. But I'm going to do it, tomorrow... and I'm going to tag you as my inspiration! I'm so glad you're back! WHOOT!!!

I'm curious, though, is this post your way of working through your own creative blocks OTHER than writing? I'd love to see what other kind of things you create as well!

Oh wow! I am flattered! I am so glad this got you moving. Enjoy the process of your project and you can't have it "go badly".

For sure! I am working on a DSLR set up (video) and I am amassing the equipment needed to start a podcast with my friend.

I love art. I am not too concerned with the medium. I just want to keep creating!

Loading...