Landscape Contest Results: Three New Paintings! Thank you, Steemit!

in #art6 years ago

About a week ago I put out a call for landscape photos that I could use to paint, and you guys did not disappoint! Since I was sick the last few days, it was the perfect time to work on these minis. Thanks to the photos of @omwith, @samanthajbarnes, and @coddiwomple, I may have been stuck in my apartment but was able to explore these magical spots while painting them. My goal is not to recreate the photo as I see it, but rather reimagine the vibrancy of the light using impressionism.

These are all 5"x7" using acrylics on canvas. Each took about 4-5 hours.

This is painted from @omwith's submission: her "hidden treasure place in Spain." I loved the play of light and shadow! Thanks for sharing this place with me.

spain_omwith_snelson_web.jpg

Original Photo:

omwith.jpeg

Next, I chose @samanthajbarnes's photo of Devotchka Cave in Bulgaria. I said "WOW" when I first saw the photo. The place looks truly unreal. You can take the tour with her, learn more, and see additional photos this awesome place here. I don't think I did this place justice, but it was a learning experience and I have a new place on my bucket list!

Devetashka Cave_Samantha Barnes_web.jpg

samantha barnes.jpeg

Lastly, I used @coddiwomple's photo she submitted of Potter County, Pennsylvania. "This is one of my forever favorite places. Potter County, Pennsylvania, USA. Being the fifth-least populous county in Pennsylvania, Potter County is often called 'God's Country,' as it boasts 1,192,713 acres of 'untouched, unspoiled, untamed' wilderness. It's natural beauty at its absolutely finest."

Potter County_coddiwomple_Christie Snelson_web.jpg

Original Photo:

coddiwomple_og.jpeg

I was able to get a few process shots in before I got lost in the puzzle of color.

step1_codiwomble.jpg

step2_codiwomple.jpg

step3 codiwomple.jpg

step 4_codwomple.jpg

The final again:

Potter County_coddiwomple_Christie Snelson_web.jpg

Thanks again to @omwith, @samanthajbarnes, and @coddiwomple for letting me use your photos, and thanks to everyone who submitted. I have more ideas that I can use your help with so there will be more opportunities similar to this one!

Steemit Landscapes Round 2_Christie Snelson.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

Wow!! It’s amazing!!! You did paint up to 3 in a week!!!! And all look amazig!! Congratulations for your talent and hard work!!!
And thanks for this!!! :)

Thank you!! Happy you like it!! Thank you for sharing your special spot with me. It really was like I was there for a bit :) :)

Oh, Christie, they are beautiful!

I haven't been on Steemit for the last few days and I just now got to see your incredible work on a big screen...what a gift! Thank you so much for choosing my photo. Your interpretation certainly DID do the Devetashka Cave justice and made it all the more magical. Now two of your paintings have been inspired by Bulgaria...looks like this place is calling to you. ;)

Upvoted, resteemed and shared on my Facebook page (I hope that's ok).

Awesome! I'm glad you think so!! That rock was a new kind of texture to explore. I think Bulgaria is calling to me too! One of these days I'll travel oversees, but I'm too busy putting my money into my art seeing where that can go. In the meantime I can visit through photos and painting :) Thanks for sharing! (That's totally okay!!) :)

Bulgaria has called me back 3 times...it's a powerful place. :) I just feel like saying that travelling and investing in your art don't necessarily have to be mutually exclusive and I encourage you to keep your eyes open to options you may have never considered in your wildest dreams. Keep on Steemin' on, dear Christie!

@christiesnelson, I am absolutely amazed by your talent! And so humbled by seeing a picture I took transformed into such a beautiful painting! Thank you so, SO much for choosing one of my photos.

Yay! Thank youuu!! I'm so glad you like it. Really was fun to paint. That light is just so beautiful. Thanks for sharing it with me! :)

Absolutely beautiful work! The photos were excellent, but the paintings really bring the places to life.

Thanks! There's something about taking a photo that always disappoints me; the camera flattens and mutes. It's my aim to liven them up.

Inspiring! I'm an acrylic artist as well and this is motivation! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted :)

Thank you! I'm glad I could inspire. Painting is good for the soul! I really love that sunflower painting you posted. Looking forward to more :)

Thank you for looking!

Awesome work! You definitely have talent

Thank you!!

thanks your post! have a nice day

You got a 0.29% upvote from @upme requested by: @christiesnelson.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

wow espectacular

I've been wanting to paint stuff but I've got a busy sched. But these paintings are gorgeous by the way, super loved it!♥

I hope you find some time soon to get some painting in. Thanks for the kind compliment! <3

Very excellent paintings!