Digital Art: Fantasy Lion Face

in #art6 years ago

Green-Jeweled-Fantasy-Lion-Tran.png

Why do I create art and what is the purpose of this piece?

I draw because I struggle with many things in the day to day and it helps me release the anxiety and pain so I can keep going. I think I made this lion to represent the strength and power I wish I had.

My process

Tools

My tools are a small iPad Pro, Apple pencil and a drawing app.

Technique

Each piece starts with a sketch (either digital or a photo of a drawing on paper.) Then I ink it in and refine it.

I love to use lots of layers to give an image complexity. One of my favorite tricks is to use a fractal maker to create fractals and then embed them underneath.

IMG_0534.jpg

Last, I add the color. I try to use restraint and leave space for the color to shine.

Here's a close-up that shows fractals peeking through the color layers. I'll erase down or use opacity to reveal the fractal in places.

IMG_0520.jpg

Ask me anything you'd like about this piece. :) Cindy T. Smile