The Gravity of Spirit Corruption

in #art6 years ago

One of the more important and iconic works of my early artistic life. I always loved the title, and may have to return to it again as a meditation in paint in the future.

Image and description below:

Mechanical Pencil, 14" x 17" (approx. 36cm x 43cm), 2000

the gravity of spirit coruption.jpg

Description:

This work details the assimilation of new spirits into established culture, as well as the psychic ego battle of established personalities already immersed. Seen on the left is a young adult, interacting with a child, on the right. The balloons of the child keep it immune from the gravity of mass cultural ego scenarios; however, that innocence is also illustrated as dwindling, noted by the balloon floating off in the distance, the ‘bursting’ balloon from the interaction with the stranger, and also the built in needle of the child’s own curiosity, seen as part of the facial region.

Sort:  

thats one cool drawing man!

I like both the picture and description. Keep exploring artist inside you.

Thanks for the affirmation, and for taking the time to consider the content in full. Cheers! :)

very surreal and thoughtful! really cool :D

upvotes

Thanks veryspider!!! :)

Great drawing! Good to see you back posting, your art is very interesting. I like that you give detailed descriptions, it's a way for the viewer to gain more insight on your work. I'd love to see that colored/painted!

Thanks so much. I will definitely be posting more work as they come about. I'm concentrating on a new oil painting and will present it hopefully within a few months at most. Meanwhile, I'll try to drop in to exhibit my archival and older pieces as well as my travel related blogs. I really appreciate your care and attention to my work.