Bazooka

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Americanized Chinese Brush Painting: Food Series
India ink wash and watercolor on rice paper

I’m working on a new series…
“Colorful” names of marijuana strains, painted
in my Americanized Chinese Brush Painting style.

Bazooka…
Brought to you from Colorado.
BazookaPainting4Steemit.png

I started with a light graphite sketch to get the lettering down,
then began laying in the color with a very watery wash.

IMG_1988.JPG

In between layers, I'll wait for the paint to dry on the rice paper…
(a blow dryer speeds the process)… then I proceed to add more
layers of pigment wash.

IMG_2253.JPGIMG_2257.jpg

The whites in the painting are the whites of the paper.
A very light grey ink wash makes the white shadow areas.
BazookaPainting4Steemit.png
Once finished, I mount the rice paper to smooth out any wrinkles.

I always scan my work and keep digital files, and keep my originals
for gallery shows, private collectors, and other events.

Notice any pot references? If so, let me know… I’m curious!

https://www.etsy.com/listing/542377783/bazooka?ref=shop_home_active_4

Thanks for visiting my painting post.
Check out my daughter’s paintings… @christiesnelson …she is amazing