F4U Corsair painting process… ink wash, and watercolor on rice paper

in #art6 years ago

The F4U Corsair is one of the most recognizable airplanes in history due to its unique inverted gull wing design.
IMG_6339.PNG

The F4U remained in production from 1942–1952. The Vought F4U Corsair is an American fighter aircraft used primarily in WWII and the Korean War.

In this painting, I added my favorite number 13, and of course a pin-up girl was a necessity!!

IMG_5473.jpg

Here I'm laying in the ink wash and watercolor very lightly in the first several layers. The rice paper gets wrinkled, but those are smoothed out at the end, when the paper is mounted.

IMG_6256.jpg

Layer after layer of watercolor…the aircraft begins to take shape. Normally airplanes aren't my chosen subject matter, but this I did for a fellow artist who requested an F4U Corsair painting.

IMG_6249.JPG

My palette full of watercolor and India ink wash…

IMG_6334.JPG

I used colored pencil for the pin-up girl. She was too small to attempt with watercolor on rice paper. It worked out nicely!

IMG_6374.JPG

The final step is to mount the rice paper onto a silicone backing using an iron.

F4UcorsairCardProof01.png

The original painting went to my friend and fellow artist, but I'm using the image in my greeting card series. This one is titled: I Corsair About You!

Thanks for visiting! It's great to meet you.
Let’s stay in touch! I'm fairly new to Steemit and still
learning the ropes.

Check out my daughter’s work @christiesnelson
She turned me on to Steemit! Thanks Christie…love you!

You can find more of my work below…

@connieluebbert
Internationally Award Winning Artist
http://www.connieluebbert.com
Instagram: @connieluebbert_art
https://www.facebook.com/connieluebbertartist

Sort:  

Very nice work!

Thanks so much! It was not my normal subject matter…slightly intimidating.

Congratulations @connieluebbert! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!