Seamstress for Burning Man

in #art6 years ago (edited)

23676.jpeg
This art car needed a new skin, and I was commissioned to do the job! (Photo supplied by client.)

It became a family business, with @narwhalz0111 in charge of CAD and creating a paper pattern for the giant eyeball, and @mattlovell for welding repair. Meanwhile, I took care of haggling at the LA Fabric District and sewing up the One Eyed Monster's shiny spandex suit.

20180727_191244~2.jpg Cutting out the wedge shapes drafted by my son.

20180730_140029~2.jpg Applying Velcro closure

20180801_150740~2.jpg Careful drafting, cutting, and stitching made all the seams line up neatly at the pole.

20180729_095837~2.jpg Checking the fit

20180729_095841~3.jpg The work crew on the art car platform

It fit beautifully! The metal cage will be wrapped in batting so that the eyeball sphere looks smooth. I also sewed an 18-foot long tube to sheath the neck. I was told that I may be called upon to construct a wardrobe of skins to change the look of the One Eyed Monster for its appearances at various festivals!

Here is one more photo of it from its previous travels, courtesy of my client:

23673.jpeg

It is pretty exciting! We aren't going to Burning Man this year, but our handiwork will be there to represent.

Cheers!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

This is so cool; super creative. So much more work goes into creating this art than one would think. Great job to you and your team.

Thanks for understanding all that! In this case, I am working for a wealthy burner who bought this awesome ride from its creator. My fam and I are hired help in the effort to refurbish it. I know it will roll delightfully all thru the dust at Black Rock City this year! Tons of love to you and yours <3

It’s going to turn out perfectly.