The Narcissism Project - Get your portrait painted! - Post your picture in the comments - 2018 Week 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

banner.jpg

Narcissism Project - Get your portrait painted!

Hello Steemians,

I'm an artist from the Netherlands and I want to start a little project this year, here on Steemit.

I've been painting for 10 years now mostly in oils and since the last 5 years, I've been painting digitally. Working digitally opens up some possibilities.

  • It's easy to correct ctrl-z ftw!
  • You can release editions, this way the expenses go down and more people get access to my work at an affordable price.
  • You can backup your work.
  • Share it over the internet.
  • Print it on almost anything and send it to a print shop all over the world.

Here's what I want to do. Every week I will make a digital portrait of one of you Steemians. This way I can get some practice and you guys get a nice portrait. Also, this will force me to study and work on my skills.

How will we do this? Simple!

Just post a picture of yourself, a friend, family member or even your pet. I will select one picture every week and make a new post with the portrait of the winner. Once this post is up you can reply again on that post with pictures for the portrait of next week. To get a better idea of whom I'm painting post your picture with a little background story. This way I can get an idea of whom I'm painting, which in turn gives better and more personal results. Make your picture personal, we all have our normal portrait selfies, that could be anyone. Try to reflect yourself in the picture. Just do you. Crazy, weird and unusual pictures are encouraged. Surprise me!

I will try to work in hi-resolution, if my computer permits it, and upload the file to G-Drive. This way you can get a nice copy at you local print shop.

Here are some portraits I've done in the last years, so you get an idea of what to expect.

I hope you'll join me on this journey and help discover this awesome community. Let's have some fun!

Cheers!
Ewoud

evans2.jpg

sanne.jpg

Pa.jpg

Imke.jpg

kids.jpg

beach.jpg

Sort:  

This is such a neat idea! I'll have to find a really good picture or take one & submit it.
Resteemed & following!!
Great work. I'm keeping an eye out for winners & other work of yours:)

@jentz44 Thnx for getting the word out. Looking forward to your submission.

Yes! That's a great idea. I really want to participate so here is my submission.

This picture symbolises a lot for me. It is made when my mother got a new house. It is a great house at a great location but it was totally trashed. I wanted to help making a little palace but first it had to be cleaned. I am very allergic to dust and as you can see we where a bit inventive to make it possible for me to help. We did beat the filth and the allergies and her house is now beautiful.

603759_10153282420873274_6476651918095335145_n.jpg

@barbaarseevelien Great picture! Thank you for your submission. Hope your mom is doing well in her palace.

Love the water effects in the last pic and it is a great idea. Like your project name too!

@ricia Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see a picture from you soon :)