Evolution of a Cyclops - from Sticky Note Art through Deep Dreams and BEYOND

in #art6 years ago (edited)




Proof of Cyclops



Ah, what ebon shores lie beyond
the pale of cyclopean thought.
Bravely I cast my boat
adrift in the endless sea.
And when perchance my thoughts drift home,
a lifeline from the end of times,
I cast loose my hold and once again
go farther from my cavernous abode.

Mine eye, mine eye!
Will it ever see again?
And seeing, will the brain yet comprehend?

But at night's end I find myself -
no stranger in a strange land,
but still an oddity in an odyssey.

Evolution of a Cyclops


Cyclops 2 smaller.jpg

Cyclops 2 Cropped.jpg

First inception - Deep Dream #1

Cyclops 2 transparency.png

At this point I added a photo background of a cave and ran it through the Deep Dream Generator again, doing a little PhotoShop painting and image manipulation on the result to blend the cave background in with the drawing's style better :)

Cyclops 2 dream2 background.jpg

Here comes the "beyond". Not quite happy with the way the light fell in the above image, I painted shadows onto the composite base image I used for the above, to better match the cyclops drawing to the light source in the cave:

Cyclops Background dream1.jpg

Things got weird after that I started layering multiple dreams on top of each other <3

Cyclops 2 stained glass dream lines.png

cyclops blue dream pattern and hatch line.png

Cyclops 2 greenyellow background.jpg

Sort:  

Those are pretty cool. Its like a trippy polyphemus lol. I like the poem too.

That was a really interesting process to the last image!

These are totally terrific! I love these different views of the cyclops! Resteemed!

Congratulations @cyclops! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

id like to see a green cyclops with red hair, a brass horn and gratuitous slime. the yellow is cool. but he looks lonely. "what color is your cyclops?" is a good reference.