"Movie Night" (11x14 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Just finished a new still life painting. My posts will be a mixture of past works and brand new works such as this one. While you're waiting for the full painting at the end of this post, here's some popcorn for you:

popcornclose.jpg

Here is the physical setup for the painting. I spent some time fussing with the popcorn to make a 'pleasing' pile, lols:

still_life_323stage00.jpg

First stage. After the simple umber block in, squinting to get the basic value relationships:

still_life_323stage01.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_323stage02.jpg

Next stage. Starting to add some definition in the popcorn bowl, and getting the knife started:

still_life_323stage03.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_323stage04.jpg

Next stage. Starting to pay special attention to the kernels in the foreground:

still_life_323stage05.jpg

Next stage. I realize that I'm starting to lose my way in the popcorn bowl. I jumped ahead too quickly into detail without making sure the overall values are good. So I squint, simplify, paint over:

still_life_323stage06.jpg

Next stage. Getting into those cloth wrinkles:

still_life_323stage07.jpg

Next stage. Droplets like these are both fun to paint and to view. My wife had to lean closer to see if they were real, which is satisfying ;). Ironically these "parlor trick" areas are the easiest and least time consuming to paint.

still_life_323stage08.jpg

And here is the finished painting, "Movie Night" (11x14 oil on panel):

still_life_323stagefinalfinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Fantastic !

Thank you!!

I am glad you are properly rewarded for such an amazing work (:

yummy

wondering what to do with this bowl of extremely stale popcorn...you want it?

S.T.U.N.N.I.N.G.!! It's really modern and interesting approach. I like the popcorns but the cloth is my favorite!

Thank you! 😁🙏

Great piece of art! Makes me want go and make some popcorn now! Following and upvoted!

Thank you very much! And I hope you enjoyed your popcorn 🍿

Indeed I did.

I've been following you on Instagram for a long time - it was a pleasant surprise to see you on here as well! Love your work

Awesome, thank you! So far I think it's pretty cool here :)

Amazing! I love oils. I really like that you mentioned you fussed with the set up because that is such a challenging aspect of painting. Isn't it so much easier when some says, 'here paint this!' and you just have to get to it? :)

Really lovely work.

Awesome thank you. Yes! Setting up a still life can either take a few minutes or a full day... that's the way it goes... :) :P

Congratulations @davidcheifetz, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 11360 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5806.15. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Cool, thanks!

Oh my goodness - this is stunning. I love the very modern take on a very traditional compositional approach to an old school still life from the masters - its funny that its main focus is the popcorn and not elaborate and bountiful bowls of fruits! The aqua is a gorgeous compliment to the intense red and I am going nuts over the drips that look like blood! This is a fantastic piece! Following and looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Thank you so much!! Much appreciated :).

Fun subject and composition! Love the droplets detail!

I just absolutely LOVE this David! See...now you made want to paint some popcorn! ;P

Thank you James! :) The one good thing about painting popcorn... you can take as long as you want, it never wilts :P:D

Thanks for sharing your awesome work @davidcheifetz. I'll be posted for more. And best wishes on Steemit !

Thank you very much! So far I love it here.

beautiful..! <3

Awesome! Thank you :)

Hermoso! sin palabras....