"Prey, Grace" (12x24 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings Steemians and Artists,

Aaaaaah...finally finished. These excellent models (Fox and Tim) have inspired several dual-figure paintings. For obvious reasons, these paintings usually take longer to complete.

oil_figure_51stagesteemitpost.jpg

detail

Here is the first stage. I've divided the panel into quadrants to help me lay out the proportions more efficiently (drawn with a paintbrush in raw umber):

oil_figure_51stage01.jpg

I start painting the focal center. At this point, I wasn't sure what alterations I'd be making to her face:

oil_figure_51stage02.jpg

Adding the second portrait:

oil_figure_51stage03.jpg

Starting the bodies:

oil_figure_51stage04.jpg

Refining bodies. I spent significant time on those clasped hands. That is prime audiobook/podcast listening territory 😅⛏:

oil_figure_51stage05.jpg

Clouding the eyes and starting the hawk:

oil_figure_51stage06.jpg

Refining the hawk and trying color alterations on the edges of the focal portrait:

oil_figure_51stage07.jpg

Refining everything and eventually getting to that lace shawl:

oil_figure_51stage08.jpg

And the finished painting, "Prey, Grace" (12x24 oil on panel):

oil_figure_51stagefinalfinal.jpg

High res image link can be found here.

Some paintings are seem nearly impossible to photograph. Not because of reflection—that’s easy—but because of values and saturation. It took a mashup of 4 heavily corrected photos just to get it to look like it does in person.

More paintings featuring these models can be found in my website gallery.

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Beautiful work David.
What a collection? you have been busy!

Another Amazing Work @davidcheifetz

You make it look easy over here. The way you portray light is beyond me. Something about the way you have the light on their hands is so super real.

Looking at your work inspired me to get a little thicker with my paint and also to sit my brush strokes down and basically leave them be. I usually end up ruining their character or blending them into oblivion.

Thank You For Adding Value to the Platform

You've Been Featured

This post has been dubbed exceptional content by @helpie and featured in our weekly Fine Art Curation.
Click Here to see what the fuss is about and find other great content creators

FineArtCurationBanner2.png

What is Helpie?

Helpie is a new and unique educational community within Steemit, designed to help users that are creating quality content grow on the platform.

@Helpie is all about helping great content creators grow. That is why the content creators get the rewards from our curation posts.

Thank you so much! :D

This turned out great David! What kind of podcasts were you listening to if you don't mind me asking?

I listen to sooo many podcasts :). During this painting I listened to a lot of History On Fire, so good!

I'll have to check that out :) What better way to figure out who we are than to study our history.

Fantastic painting @davidcheifetz! And thanks for letting us in on your process, so much fun to watch the different stages. 😊

Thank you very much! :) :)

wow! i should say those two models looks very realistic! great job my friend! keep on posting stuff like this, i love it! :)

Thank you very much!! Will keep posting :)! -D

By the way, you have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look-out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group where we are a community that fosters camaraderie and help authors improve their blogging skills where we have mentors that conduct post feedback sessions and other things.

If you have time, do check us out!

https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as the one here)




That's awesome, thank you. I've never used discord before, but when I do, I'll be sure to take a look. :)

Great work! Thanks for sharing the process. Just amazing....

Thank you! :D :)

Gorgeous!
Cheers

Thank you very much! :)

You're welcome :)

wow....amazing work

very beautiful

Great post tnx for sharing I just upvoted check out my new post upvote resteem comment @glclipse
https://steemit.com/marijuana/@gclipse/stoner-on-indica