Six Shots: Brad Downey

in #art6 years ago

Merry Christmas Steemers! I am here to show you some art that I enjoy. I hope it will be refreshing and interesting.

Now, I am merely an appreciator, I know nothing, but there is passion in my naivety.

I plan to display 6 pieces (this may comprise of more than 6 pictures) of work by the artists that I am profiling, to give you a taste, and see if you think their work is worth investigating in your own future. I don't plan to add any personal commentary on the pieces I select at this moment in time, if there is any information from the artist regarding the works that I feel I should share I will.

Anyway, I hope this is of some interest!

First up is Brad Downey.

Misunderstood Lovers (Square)

Paper Pyramid
In collaboration with AKAY

Hotel L'Era De Can Burges
In collaboration with AKAY

A massive 9 bedroom country house hotel, 14 km outside of Girona is turned inside-out over the course of a week. Brad and Akay in the very practical way they work, focused their attention on the ostentatious surroundings they found themselves in. This house had allot of material to work with. An entire football field was covered with fabric, they carried out 168 chairs, 23 beds, and emptied the house of all its lights and art. The cook shrieked to find all of the cookware and cutlery floating in the full sized swimming pool, clinking melodically on the calm surface, when she came that evening to prepare the 10pm dinner for the thirty hotel guests.

Parasite Space

A Soviet Lamp's lighting is used to illuminate a small architectural space. (unfurnished)
Made in collaboration with the architect Diego Sologuren.

Portrait Of My Father

A 15.24 x 22.86 meter vinyl banner is pulled by a Cessna plane for 6 hours. The performance can be re-staged in any highly populated area.

Uso Dei Libri
One Image from the series.

You can see more of Brad's work on his website here: http://www.braddowney.com/