Newest Painting Demonstration: All the steps laid out

in #art5 years ago

I'm really happy with how this painting turned out. I had a rough start, beginning on a used canvas (You can see the false start, here, then I decided to use a fresh canvas, untoned, and larger. I thought this would enable me to let the whites show through in both the clouds and in the boat. In fact, there are areas of the boat where I used no paint at all! I wanted the effect you would get if you were there in person, with the bright sun making you squint.

IMG_9456 2.JPG

Here is a variety of shots, showing the different steps I took along the way in completing this. I start with a simple drawing in burnt umber or ochre, and note the most dominant lines in the composition. I take care to allow space for the frame, and use broad, thin strokes of paint like a rough watercolor.

IMG_6949.JPG

Once you start to get the lines where you want them, fill in some colors of the larger massed areas. A general hue of that color will help you position parts of the subject, and visualize the whole, while giving you a ground to build onto.

IMG_5923.JPG

Clouds are always intimidating. Skies in general are. Even a simple blue sky isn't simple. It's a complex gradation of blues, changing hues and brightness through the atmosphere.

IMG_9239.JPG

Here, I'm working on the gradations of tone from the bright white into the shadows. It's a challenging mix of green and beige. Sometimes colors seem to exist on the same plane, independent of each other. Blue and Yellow can be there together without being green. Red and Blue can be there together without being purple. Not exactly intuitive.

IMG_9606.JPG

This is a close up of the metal fasteners that hold the ropes to the boat. The ring was the hardest part, since the ovoid shape needs to describe the angle at which the ring is tilted to hold onto the rope. I think I got it in the end.

IMG_4443.JPG

I saved the beach sand to the end. It seemed like it would be simple enough. Not many colors in the mix, and no need to follow the real form of the footprints. Who would know?

IMG_6482.JPG

The house in the back isn't too detailed. Not much in the painting is. I even held back here and there so it wasn't too rigid. The ropes are the focal point, so these are pretty detailed in relation to the rest.

IMG_9456 3.JPG

I had a lot of fun with this one, and it went pretty quickly. I started it on October 31, and finished it December 5. Considering I only really work in the morning on weekdays, that's about 12 hours. Not too shabby!

IMG_8271.JPG

And here is the finished piece:

IMG_3250 2.JPG

It's 20x24, oil on canvas. I hope you like it!

@dbennett

Sort:  

Love the sky and the soft looking sand @dbennet! I certainly like it :) With a simple object of a boat, you successfully combined simplicity and sophistication to create this piece. I like the close up of the painting on canvas too. Thank you for sharing your artwork with us. It does look like a photo.

Thanks, @marblely! The sand was the best part. So freeing to paint!

Nice! And you painted them so soft looking! I love soft sand but they can be very hot, too hot to step on, on a hot hot day. What do you usually do with your art pieces after you complete them? Do you sell them?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I often sell them but lately have been saving them to do a show, if I can find a gallery.

:) Good luck @dbennett. Hope you find a gallery to showcase your work. Happy week to you :)

Congratulations @dbennett! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations
This post has been selected for 7 Tag Curation Project | Wednesday (#art)

The goal of this curation project is to give some support to those who make good and useful contents. We hope it will help people and encourage those content creator who wants to spread knowledge and share his idea.

Great painting man :) really awesome

Hi dbennett,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

The sky is beautiful! And I think that you are right when you say that even simple blue sky is not simple to paint. There are so many different hues of blue and other colors too. But you did a great job.

The ropes are very well detailed and they are indeed the focal point of the painting.

I like the whole scenery. It looks like a perfect vacation spot. And 12 hours isn't that bad. I would have thought that it takes much more time :) So well done! :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! I love that I can relive my vacation memories all winter by painting 😁

the painting was very beautiful. In a couple of photos from step by step I can see the photograph of the scene in which you were inspired. could you share it with us?

The details of the sky and the ropes are exceptional. well done. A piece of art fresh, it reminded me of the town where I was born. It is called "San Juan de los cayos" in Venezuela, Falcon State.

Thanks! Here is the photograph:
36196164274_a6b19593ca_o.jpg

Holy s* ... I am speechless. Painting is the reprinting of photography. excellent work Now I like it much more

Awesome! I'm a human printer :)

Darren ! This is absolutely lovely <3 I love this one very much ! Your handling of values and shadows... the colours and the cleanliness of the boat, and that sky and sand ! <3 I love it very much~

The step by step is presented wonderfully, too <3 <3 <3

Congrats for another curie :D

Thanks, @veryspider! and for all your advice.

¡Hola @dbennett! Es una obra de arte muy bella, no es nada fácil pintar con óleo, pero tú lo haces ver muy fácil, el cuadro quedo perfecto, como la propia foto, con un cielo azul resplandeciente, en la casa que se ve a lo lejos, seguro viven los pescadores, me los imagino en su bote saliendo a pescar a muy temprano para conseguir la comida para la familia, si la pesca es abundante venderán el resto, gracias por compartir, te felicito por tu voto Curie, un fuerte abrazo.

Aaahhh what a beautiful and inviting scene. I really like the blue sky and how you made the white clouds here. Very nice :D.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thanks! On both counts.

Congratulations @dbennett! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dbennett! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!