3rd Weekly Sketch Contest

in #art7 years ago

Thanks to @aurealistic for adding 4 SBD to the prize pool this week bringing our prize pool up to 14SBD.

AND OUR WINNERS FOR WEEK 2 ARE!!!!

First our honorable mentions for the week who will each receive 1 SBD

@fole
DQmcsF4nUgCf6WAWWsP8tcz5iiuZy5BqwphA4EnRUvs9PxB_1680x8400.jpg
This is a great choice in subject and perspective. Your sketch of it is very close, though I feel like it looks like a few of the buildings look a bit twisted. Should make for a really cool finished piece.

@allfabeta
U5dtX1PbL3QBC6ijZtUxjqNzFE2QEzF_1680x8400.jpg
DQmYDGm4yUNQ2m1K1G4yFDDV1weJaabXCFRteWch7aH1npi_1680x8400.jpg
This is a step in the right direction from last weeks entries. They look a bit messy which isn't really a bad thing in this case. One thing I must tell you though, the pencil marks on the rose should have been erased or made much lighter before you started painting. Graphite and charcoal bleeds very bad, especially in water based art supplies, If most of it is not removed before you begin you may never get rid of it.

In 3rd place receiving 2 SBD
@neumannsalva
DQmQ52CrmkYrA3RbktoZb4JwKrVV1Vf8kc9yyKhSzufs72L_1680x8400.jpg
Wow great perspective and beautiful composition. It was really close and a hard choice to make this week, keep up the good work.

In second place receiving 4 SBD
@aurealistic
DQmbLEWqAidYmDdp1hGVGKBLVNeB4SoVXLEiALKpPfPqhVe_1680x8400.jpg
That's freaking beautiful, the feet looking unfinished compared to the rest kept this from winning.

AND OUR GRAND PRIZE OF 6 SBD GOES TO
@thetruthbomb
DQmQFUQ5R23kDv7peVHitasfzUpANyzrzeuM1bafC2VQbAR_1680x8400.jpg
Great job, I find very little fault here. Should make for one hell of a final piece.

Winners from Week 1
https://steemit.com/art/@dcrockete/2nd-weekly-sketch-contest

Remember winners the top 3 each week also receive 1 ticket to enter into a monthly winners circle contest where you can compete with the final piece you did from your winning sketch or sketches.

Let Week #3 begin
The sketch is where all art begins. It is here where an artist has the chance to get their perspectives and composition worked out. Not intended to be a final piece a sketch is more of a way to work out the ideas in your head before making any real commitment to it. In an effort to help new artist learn these skills I've started a weekly contest. Wallet accommodating I will add 10 SBD as a prize pool for each week.
You may use
*Pencil
*Graphite
*Charcoal
*Silverpoint
*Pastel
*Pen
*Watercolor
*Acrylic
*Any digital form of these mediums also acceptable
10 SBD Prize pool will be distributed based on volume of entries
All entries should be added to this post by 7/23/17

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the mention and suggestions!
I never drew this perspective before, but I'll try make it better :D
Thank you!!!

Can't say I've ever tried it, really glad you shared it with us.

I really liked your style with one :)

Hi @dcrockete! Wonderful picks :-) Congratulations to everybody. And good luck next week for the new contestants.

Sorry I couldn't thank you earlier man, it has been a crazy week. Thank you so much :-)

Wow! Thank you @dcrockete-I don't know what else to say.
All the entries were incredible-what a tremendous effort! Unbelievable. It's this kind of effort from everyone that will make out art community strong here on steemit.

I feel the same way. Bunch of really good artists on steemit.

I completely agree-steemit has become a great platform for artists to showcase their work :)

I am sketch contest addicted...can't help myself, had to make another entry. This time a fast watercolour sketch.

https://steemit.com/art/@neumannsalva/watercolour-painting-as-meditation

And another big thank you to @dcrockete for your super work and sponsoring and also to @aurealistic for his support

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Thanks for postings of such dope art!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Always willing to have my posts shared, you will have to understand the images in this post are not mine to give premission for use elsewhere.

That is understandable and thank you.

Thank you again! This is so motivating. The combination of beeing productive myself, getting feedback and discovering new great artist and people. I will directly resteem the new contest :-D

Hi @dcrockete-I would like to submit this for my entry if it is ok. I am not sure if stippling is acceptable. This is an old timer-one of my favorite but feel free to share your opinion, if it is not acceptable I am happy to withdraw. Also, I have a sketch-a nude of a lady do I have to tag nsfw for that? Not sure😕
https://steemit.com/art/@thetruthbomb/55vbzt-art-of-the-day

Looks ok for entry to me. NSFW entries are also accepted, I will refrain from adding the image directly to the announcement post but a link to it will be added instead.

Ok cool-thanks for that. I couldn't remember if stippling was part of sketching, plus, this is the final product, I am not going to do anything else to it-although the nose didn't come out right 🙄

A sketch really doesn't have a definition. Nor does it every really have to go past this stage. Most of the time it doesn't even have to be done on the same surface the final piece is going to be on. Most portrait painters will paint a "sketch" of their subject before starting the final. Usually a much smaller scale.

I agree however a lot of times with contests there are some rules set and I just wanted to make sure you were ok with it. Thanks for that :) you are awesome!

Interesting how I found out about you and this contest just now...upped, followed, resteemed! I hope I'll find the time to enter :) Also, feel free to see my contest I think it might interest you...

and I found this contest and followed @dcrockete thanks to @oceansoul13's resteem! :D

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 42.37 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @aurealistic.

Wow, these are all awesome... And similar to the ArtstylrARt contest in that it's hard to choose a winner! They are all great :)