STREET ART #59 – Fearful creatures, sharp as needles

in #art4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0.jpg

The main subjects for the murals done by Chineese born artist DALeast, are animals or fearful creatures. His paintings are done on flat surface, but look threedimentional. That's a tecnique he often uses, which makes his work easy recognizable.

In December last year I spent a short time in Malaga, Spain. I felt lucky that I accidently came across a mural painted by DALeast. I have seen some of his work in Windhoek, Namibia and in Copenhagen, Denmark.


Malaga

When I was in Malaga I was lucky to come across this mural. It was pure luck that I saw it. I was waiting for the traffic light to turn green, when I turned around and saw it. I had to return to get a closer look. The birds are magnificent!


DALeast was born in Wuhan China in 1984. He started to do street art in Beijing sometime in 2004. Since then he has become one of the big international names when it comes to street art. He is famous for his etching style technique.


Windhoek

Creatures on a factory wall in Windhoek. The walls facing the street are covered with a series of images of animals in motion or hunting. Animals in motion is often the main subject in his paintings.



Each figure is created by a plethora of little shiny, metallic looking sharp needles. They are hollow, yet threedimentional. On a distance it might look simple, but look closely and you will see it's much more complex.




Copenhagen

This is one of the most iconic murals in Copenhagen. The line on top saying «I'm gay» was added by some other person.


In 2015 Danish photographer Søren Solkær opened his Surface exhibition in Copenhagen, featuring portraits of world famous street artists. He invited 6 of them to create murals in Copenhagen leading up to this exhibiton. One of them was DAleast.

I hope to see more of his work in the future.

If you want to more about him check: www.daleast.com


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #58 – Street art is developing fast in Aalborg, Denmark


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 36.724782 lat -4.419466 long STREET ART #59 – Fearful creatures, sharp as needles d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Thank you for shedding light on such unique and talented artist @digi-me. My favourite graffiti is the one in Malaga. Inspiring.

You are welcome. His style is unique. I really hope I will see more done by him :)

Wahoo stunning style... I like it.
@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 0/4 - need recharge?)

I like his style. Unique. The first time I saw his work was in Namibia and I became a fan right away...

They are amazing, the style is really great. The jaguar has a life like movement to it, nice finds.

I was very impressed the first time I saw his work in Windhoek. An artist with quite a unique style.

Congratulations! Your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #503!

We would really like you to join our community where you'll find other great authors like you and more focused curation. If you want to support us, the best way is to vote for our witness here and feel free to join our Discord for more info or if you have any questions! :)

Thank you so much! :)

Wonderful works! Thanks for sharing these fantastic shots! 😁

Yeah. I think his style is awesome. The two images of birds are painting high up on a building so I couldn't get to close, but the ones in Windhoek are on street level making it much more easy to study close up.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=digi-me
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-59-fearful-creatures-sharp-as-needles


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #773.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


WOAH! It's fabulous 😍