Ithaqa Comic Issue 1, Part 1

in #art5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.37.00 PM.png

It is finally here! You've all supported us for so long, and it's finally time to unveil issue 1 to steemit. I think I'll upload the comic scene by scene, but if you would all prefer me to pass the comic along in larger chunks, comment below and I'll be happy to oblige you all!

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.37.23 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.37.39 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.37.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 2.38.09 PM.png

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Lucas Gattoni's (The Letterer/Logo Designer) website is here: http://bit.ly/LG_Lettering

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

The comic is really nice. The illustration is amazing and writing catchy. I like the theme of this comic and the small color palette that was used. The detail is great too! Well done!

In regards to the quality you need to change it 640 px if you want to check it later through Steemit. If you check it through busy.org then the quality should be as you wanted. I usually upload my posts through steempeak because of the resolution that I want to use. But when I check my post on Steemit, the photos are indeed blury..

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Thanks for your feedback/advice. I resized the images in the next post, so you'll have to let me know if it works better that way.

I'm glad you like the comic, Theresa, Lucas, and myself have been working hard for some time! We couldn't have finished it without the support of steemit.

The resolution looks a little fuzzy to me, I posted with busy.org. If anyone has any suggestions for achieving a sharper image, lemme know!

Best thing is to scale the image to width 640 px before uploading - and from a large file.

Great pages!

Thanks! I gave that a shot in the second post

I posted a drawing today and it seems to be crazily compressed. They started recently to size down images so maybe they also have used greater jpg compression to make images smaller?

Upvoted and resteemed of course. Starts off really well. I like the composition of the panels, alternating between close ups and expressive conversations. I need to work more on these. Great to finally read some dialogue! Feels like I can hear their voices now! ;-)

Good to hear from you again man! Don't worry, the ithaqa steemit RPG isn't dead!

Hehe I liked my rugged, mentaly unstable inspector! I need to catch up with his adventures...

It's been a while since I've read comics :) You did a great job. I love the characters and those times. The '20 are my favorite. Despite of the image quality, I love it. Well done!

Welcome back to the world of comics! I LOVE the 1920's, so I'm so happy to be telling a horror mystery set in that time :)

Thank you for the warm welcoming and keep up the good work 😉

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I think what you have done is great and know how many hours has gone into getting it to this point.

Thanks man! Hard to say. My first versions of this script date back two years ago. At one point we thought we'd finished this issue (and the scripts for all future issues), but then we met with a publisher who gave us very good advice that caused me to rethink and restructure the whole story.

So we rewrote and raised steem for at least 6 months to make this issue happen!

Sometimes it is good to listen and get good advice and I am glad you have got this far.

You nailed it! All I could think about while reading this was "This looks pretty Lovecraftian" this is a great beginning and the design looks super clean I can congratulate you enough, I can't wait to see more!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Thank you for the kind words! @la-fumettista and I would be honored to be featured in the Author showcase.

My statement would be that this comic would not have been finished were it not for the support of the steemit community, as I ran out of personal funds to keep the comic going in 2018. @fundition helped us raise over 1000 steem, and that's why this comic's debut is on the steemit platform.

As we go forward this month with a kickstarter campaign to raise money for a physical print run, all of our press releases will reflect the positive impact that steem and the steemit community have had on our comic.

Also I really can't tell you how pleased I am that a fellow Lovecraft fan zeroed in on this comic right away!

This is an amazing work. Refined, clever, intriguing.
Please, keep posting scenes. It makes a great read.
Illustrations and dialogues well handled, perfectly balanced. It has a retro air with a modern flavor.
I loved the subtle details. The bar tender's complicitous gesture..
Can't wait to see the story unfold.
Wish you lots of success.

Thanks man! Glad you found your way to the comic! We've got 5 issues written, 3 illustrated, and this first issue will be released in its entirety for free on steemit

That is awesome. Xmas in march :)

Hi drwatson,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! So glad to finally make into the curie community! I'll defintely join the discord if you'll have me!

This comic is really handsome, both in the writing and the illustration. I love all the attention to details that are shown everywhere here, even the typesetting is so well done and thoughtful, the text bubbles after he's been drinking clearly show his drunkeness. Both of you make a really great team :D.
                     
Grats for the curie vote, this comic deserves all the support ^_^.

Thank you! Yes, Lucas is an amazing letterer, and not only did he do the letters, he also did the amazing logo on the cover!

There's plenty more art to come (36 pages in issue 1 total)

Ooohh so sorry, I didn't know about Lucas. His work is definitely professional quality.
                         
Then let me rephrase my previous comment, all of you who worked on this comic have done AMAZING job :).

Wow, so much work, I can't wait to see it. The colour story is my favourite part of this, so mellow and antique feeling.

I'm glad that after all this time spent supporting us, we can finally unveil the comic for you to enjoy! Thank you again for believing in us for so long!

Great to see this after all that time. Looking forward to reading it all.

We're so glad to give back to the steem community that has made this comic possible. I didn't have the money to finish this project as you know, and without all your support during the @fundition campaign, we never would have got here.

Now I just hope I deliver on the narrative, because Theresa obviously has delivered on the art!

I hope your comics will be discovered by a director or producer of movies and may somehow make a movie of your comic story.
It would be a great break for you.

I want an HBO tv adaption of this comic so bad, haha. I'll be crossing my fingers!

Oh!
That would be a great dream, its possible!
What would you like most a detective comic drama?

At last! It looks wonderful, the art is great, the colors in this limited palette are very fitting as we discussed in the past, and the dialogue is very good; dense and with carefully chosen words, every bubble has information and introduces the mysteries that will expand later. My favorite is "Can I call you Theo? Right, sorry mr Wharton!" lol.
I like the whole setup of the pages so far, and the first page in particular sets the mood in a very good way: like a frame from an old silent movie, it gives you the creeps with the unsettling quote, raising questions about what follows...
I'd prefer larger chunks of the comic, and please, can you tell us more about the physical publication?

Haha I think that's one of my favorite lines too, one of the few that have stuck in the script since the beginning!

As a @fundition backer, I think you're definitely entitled to read the whole comic in one swoop! Which email did you log with us? I can send it over.

In terms of physical print, I plan to launch a kickstarter later this month to raise 2,000 - 3,000 dollars for a physical print run/ hopefully reach a new audience on Kickstarter. I'll be sure to let you know when we launch!

Yo yo yo Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Love this, @drwatson :) It is amazing to see the unveiling of the first part of your gorgeous comic ! The 20s vibe, and the muted colour palette, and Theresa's arts, and Lucas' lettering works, and your story... AAAAAAAAH .... everything really came together so wonderfully!!!

Gorgeous!

i've had such a terrible week that i am only able to check back in today but it is my mission to go through each post now <3 <3 <3

Thank you for going through each post! I really appreciate you taking the time, and leaving such thoughtful comments was very nice of you as well!

Steemit peeps have invested so much time and steem into this comic, that I just really hope I deliver a comic worthy of all that investment!

Hello ! You are in my "Steemit Overview #2" :)
Peace :)

https://steemit.com/dtube/@emsonic/ckwjtqhj

Posted using Partiko Android

What a nice idea making a collabration and publishing a comic on steemit👍👏 Good Luck

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think so too! Without @fundition and the steemit community, this comic would not have been finished!

Good luck. Nice artworks and story👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

The CooperFelix-Multiservices Team appreciates the content of this post by giving it a 15% upvote. We invite users to participate in the Project by offering a small donation on Fundition.

Wellness Is Green


wellnessisgreenBuonaconFundition.jpg

The image is owned by the author and the use, reproduction or quotation without authorization is forbidden

Ah, I found it too late for an upvote... Looks great!