Portrait of my wife

in #art6 years ago (edited)

preview.png

Last summer I had an order to draw some characters for an iOS game. Thought it was a big London studio but nobody knew how that characters should look like. The only thing was it has to be celebrities in future with some portrait similarities. For the beginning I had to search and create a sample for future contracts with that famous people.

Done some sketch work with different variants. Wanted to do them all closer to my style so I can easily make a series of them in short amount of time if needed.

sketching1.jpg

Client had chosen something and I drew some celebrities but this is a different story. One sketch I loved a lot because it was looking little bit like my wife. It's number ten in the sketch lineup. I had this photo of her and wanted to use it as a reference for the lights and colors.

ref.png

Worked on Microsoft Surface Pro 4 that time in Adobe Photoshop. You can draw right on the screen there. It's very handy.

photo.png

Some variations:
variants.jpg

mywoman3.jpg

Here is the final. What do you think about it?


Fil Dunsky:

Sort:  

I wonder if this rule works in both directions - if an artist is in love with his wife - she looks pretty on his pictures. And viceversa - awkward looking woman-partner means there's something wrong in this relationship? 🤔

Haha :) maybe it means he likes awkwardness

I had asense of something like that - need a fokus group))

I'd feel bad for the artist who can't draw...

You have very cute daily inspiration near you.

Haha! So true!

Nicely done, love it. @dunsky how are you finding the Microsoft Surface Pro? I have used Apple Macs since the 90's but I want something like the Surface Pro for when I travel and use full Photoshop unlike the iPad.

Thanks a lot @marcwbass well I was absolutely fine with my Surface Pro 4 and would recommend it buying in top configuration. Now I've switched to Surface Pro 2017 (or 5) and there is a bug with the new pen with tilt. You won't be able to write or draw with it cause the cursor is jumping under the tip and it's unpredictable. But you still can use an old Surface Pro 4 pen with it to work like I am doing. But then there is almost no sense in buying new 2017 one in comparance to old Pro 4.

You are very talented

Thank you!

Wow very good work, I want to try but not perfect lol.

You can do it, you're perfect!

I love your characters. The playfulness of light and their head to body ratios are really adorable and endearing. I have an older surface 3. I mostly use it for sketching and such, as it isn't as multilayered in brush sensitivity as my wacom. It is a joy though to pop it in a bag and have your studio at the local coffee shop.

Again, great character studies and the finished piece is great. I really like her hair!

Thanks a lot, Donna! Surface Pro 4 and it's pen greatly improved in comparance to Surface Pro 3 as I know... At the same time if you will think on upgrade don't buy Surface Pro 5 (2017) because there is a big problem with the pen there. It's jumping and you can not draw at all there.

These are amazing! So cute with those puffy hair like little dolls :>

Thank you, Kothy!

finaly nice😍

Thanks :)

Very cool! Really like it so much, you are very talented Mr @dunsky. Until now I still can not make it. :D

Haha :)

Nice work! I'm really loving the hair and her expression :D

Thank you so much, Flo!

Super cute! But the big question is, what did she say when you showed it to her! hehe

Thank you :) Haha, yeah, she is my best critique but this one she really liked

aah! then, mission accomplished!

This is cute! :D

Thank you!

Nice work.

Thanks!

Thaaats nice great, funny,simple ...good job

Haha, thank you!

Well, this is amazing! I just came across your blog and I love everything about it! Congrats! And your wife is beautiful! :)

Thank you very much, Elia!