You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My book of drawing from Vancouver

in #art6 years ago

Here's an odd question for you! What was it (or is it) about Vancouver, B.C., that brought out so much drawing? You lived somewhere else before this period of artistic creativity, and you now have again moved elsewhere. Was it just that you had more TIME and OPPORTUNITY to sketch in Vancouver? Or does that region (or city) inspire you? I've found that different aspects of a person's nature come up in different states and cities, and this can be seen by comparing one's natal chart to the founding or incorporation charts of the cities in question. There is another method, which uses geographical astrology, as seen in Astrocartography. Different talents, opportunities, and outcomes occur in one city, but not another. Look up my name together with the word 'astrology', or my name edaugusts dot com.
Couplets-P-is-for-Phones (0).jpgWhen I owned a bookstore, I kept a "day book" where I logged purchases and sales. It gave me time to doodle. Like you, I made 100's of sketches, but not focused on people, as yours are. Just "doodles", cartoony images, at best! (See: Attached!)

I really admire your work! Don't publish ALL of it on-line! You'll be selling copies of the book, so don't put more than, say, 20% up, in advance. Let people see most of it once they've bought and paid!
Best of Luck to you!
Couplets-F-is-for-Falling-Dream (0).jpg

Sort:  

wow awesome drawings, so much intensity in such small doodles. I appreciate your questions. The main reason I drew so much was because I had no friends, no job, no money and was really depressed. Drawing kept going out of my house everyday and kept me engaged with the real world instead of hiding away in my place just smoking weed. Vancouver didn't inspire really but the depths of my depression allowed me to bring out a lot of interesting things in my work. When you don't have a lot going on and can really dedicate yourself to your art, a lot can come out. The rain in vancouver is brutal. It's grey and dark and the city itself is hard to survive in. It is very expensive.
Thanks for the input on how much I should share online, I'll be aware of that. I'm hoping to sell some copies once it's done :)