Samaa Lead Image Breakdown and Earthstrong Album Cover for Samaa Founder "Jafar"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Jafar and Samaa Records- The Task

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Center_02.04.2018.png

Jafar reached out to me about 6 months ago to captain the design for his upcoming release "Earthstrong" (Attached at the bottom of the post). After successfully creating the design for his maiden voyage album he commissioned me to create a series of marketing images to represent his record label "Samaa Records" across his social media platforms. While I do not consider myself a commercial artist first, I have found that my artwork has a valuable application for psychedelic musicians and I am regularly commissioned to create "Visionary" artworks that can be used to represent alternative brands. So I was tasked to create 2 Header images and a Profile Picture for Samaa that could be used on Facebook and Soundcloud and any other platforms he chose. Due to a reasonably limited budget I needed to come up with a way to accomplish the task in a timely manner. As innovation is always at the forefront of my mind I considered many different approaches to a solution. In the end I decided that the best way to accomplish the task was to create 1, wide frame image that could be cropped in various ways to fit the necessary dimensions of the various platforms.

Samaa Banner- The Final

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Full_02.04.2018.png

Lotus.png

2 Headers, and a Profile Pic

Profile Pic

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Center_02.04.2018.png

Lotus.png

Left Header

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Left_02.04.2018.png

Lotus.png

Right Header

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Right_02.04.2018.png

Lotus.png

The Process

Sketching

When working with a specific goal in mind I will first sit down with my sketchbook. There is something about the pencil to the paper during this phase of idea generation that really streamlines my process. I don't always sketch first but because I needed to accomplish a very direct task this seemed like the way to go. At this phase I wanted to get some dynamic gestures down for our Whirling Dervish' as this was a request of Jafar. The Dervish is the archetype of Samaa Records and so it was important to him to keep with this theme. I decided that a night scene with a big psychedelic plant surrounded by musicians and whirlers would be a great way to accomplish our objectives.

IMG_3721.jpg

IMG_3722.jpg


Sketch to Photoshop

After I am satisfied with the general idea and thumbnails, I will take a couple pics of the sketches and load em up into Photoshop. I begin lassoing out the individual assets and composing the scene. After I am satisfied with the layout then I add a "Multiply" Layer and start adding washes of color.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_2_02.05.2018.jpg


To Paint

I use a number of programs to get the feeling I am searching for. Among them are Corel Painter, Zbrush, Groboto, renders from Trapcode Tao and Mir and passes from deepdreamgenerator.com

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_3_02.05.2018.jpg


Jafar's Feedback

Because we wanted to achieve a distinct look for our banners and have significantly different feeling between them, Jafar asked me to turn the right side of the image into a daylight scene. The plant in the middle took up enough of the frame to be able to use it as a dividing point between the light and dark.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_4_02.05.2018.jpg


Almost There

And with some color refinements and about 15 hours of detail we end up at a nearly complete piece.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_5_02.05.2018.jpg


Logo and Detail and Done

At this stage I added the Samaa logo and gave it some 3 dimensional, cut stone effects and made a final pass over everything to ensure that every inch felt complete.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Full_02.04.2018.png

Lotus.png

Jafar's Earthstrong Album Cover

Eloh_Projects_JAFAR_02.04.2018.jpg

"Together, we celebrate the birth of Samaa Records with this compilation "EARTHSRTONG" ❤️

Psyshop release date: 12.02.2018
Digital release: 19.02.2018

https://www.psyshop.com/Earthstrong-Samaa/sma1cd001/

Follow Samaa Records:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/samaarecords
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/samaarecords
Bandcamp: https://samaarecords.bandcamp.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/samaarecords
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/samaarecords
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCO9XxZnD8ldpBVnQoSr5Zpg

https://www.facebook.com/samaarecords/videos/425796241210836/

Lotus.png

CD Layout

Eloh_Projects_Jafar_Layout_02.05.2018.png

Lotus.png

T-Shirt and Sticker Design

Along the way we took the album design and proceeded to create a T-shirt and a sticker to be shipped with the album. It is important to be comfortable working with layered, uncollapsed .psd files whenever creating marketing packages because you never know how or when the design will be translated and attributed to other mediums. To save yourself work on the back end its important to retain the individual layers that you generate along the way.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Shirt_02.04.2018.png

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Shirt_02.04.2018.png


Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Sticker_02.05.2018.png

Lotus.png

Announcement Header

The final asset for our Album Release Package was a simple header image displaying the artists who worked with Jafar and provided music for remixes and collaboration.

Eloh_Projects_Samaa_Header_02.05.2018.jpg

Lotus.png

And that concludes this Behind the Scenes look. I hope you enjoyed it.

Please follow @elohprojects for more in depth perspectives. And consider smashing the Upvote and Resteem buttons if you appreciate this high quality content.

Thanks so much for your interest.

Kind Regards,

Sean

Eloh_Projects_Signature_01.04.2018.png

Sort:  

As the founder of Steem Artists I just wanted to take a moment to also comment, upvote and resteem from my own personal account. Your artwork is truly amazing and inspires me beyond belief to dig further within myself for my next artwork and find the essence I know I possess. Keep up the amazing creations and I look forward to promoting you again in the near future :)

Wow. What a compliment. Inspiring others is one of my most cherished accomplishments and it means all the more coming from a talented artist and a generous curator as yourself. Thank you @spaceginger.

I wish I had an FKey that would just make your Steemit page pop up. You create beautiful work and I appreciate how you always share keys and gems to what you have done. Thanks!

Ahh Thanks @lucidlight. That is quite the creative compliment. I appreciate your Kind words and energetic investment. I put these up in long form and tuck little tips and tricks in along the way because they are meant to be read. So thank you for taking the time to do so. 🙏🏻

Congratulations! Your post has been promoted by the Steem Artists

We look forward to sharing your artwork with members of our amazing group!

Awesome :) :)

very cool Workflow - very interesting
like your Style :-)
resteemed

Thanks @yoogyart. Happy you enjoy this. Take good care.