Visionary Art Contest Is Coming to an End- Here is my Contribution

in #art6 years ago

Chaos Axe and The Cosmic Serpent


Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.06.17 PM.png


Lotus.png

Okay Fellow Artists and Appreciators,

Here is my contribution to the Visionary Art Contest. Because I am hosting the contest, obviously this will not be considered for any prizes but I definitely wanted to join the fun.

Recently a client of mine approached me to design a piece to represent him and his music. He gave me some loose guidelines and set me free to create (unfortunately I totally missed the mark and have to design a whole new piece but such is life). Because this was timed perfectly with our contest I chose to use all 3 categories (Alien Plant, Hyperdimensional Object, Divine Weapon) as a foundation for my composition. All three categories are represented here in some form and you might choose to have a bit of fun identifying them.

Note- I microdosed over the course of 5 days to tap into the true authenticity of the piece.

So let's begin


Lotus.png

Process


1

As usual, I start extremely loose. This stage is just about getting the initial movement down and blocking in shapes.

AriJoshua1.jpg


2

In Corel Painter, I lay in some pre-created, tesselating designs with my Pattern Pen. I am focusing on intuition and movement primarily. I want something dynamic and flowy. This will allow me the most freedom to incorporate the widest range of shapes and ideas and provide for plenty of happy accidents.
AriJoshua2.jpg


3

More Pattern Pen overlays. Here I am working to weave multiple patterns together to create nice rhythm and balance of color usage.
AriJoshua3.jpg


4

I continue to beef up the composition with some 3D shapes created in Zbrush and turned into tesselating patterns to be used with my Pattern Pens. This adds some real substance to the flow and provides a substrate for some enjoyable details later.
AriJoshua4.jpg


5

Back in Photoshop, I add some contrast and bring out some of the vibrant colors you see in the final. At this point the undeniable serpent forms take on more of a concrete shape as a snake.

AriJoshua5.jpg


6

I'm really liking the egg form behind the main figure. This resembles something like a bulb or a seed and will become the prime representation of the Alien Plant. It serves as a fountain of textures and kind of governs the use of the textures in the rest of the piece. The snake is now turning into a solid representation of a Cosmic Serpent and brings tension into the mix. There must be some type of Divine Weapon here that can tame Apophis... Hmmm... what could it be?
AriJoshua6.jpg


7

The piece is really taking shape at this point, though there are several wonky elements that will inspire the "final solution" :).

AriJoshua7.jpg


Final

And here we have the final. I created some impossible objects in the vein of M.C. Escher and they worked into the piece kindly. More 3D renders are incorporated and everything is painted together. The piece is unified in movement and color, the composition is dynamic and refined and though our Contest Categories have blended into the overall composition they are still represented in a reasonably sophisticated way.

Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.06.17 PM.png


Lotus.png

Details


Alien Plant

A seed, a pod, an idea generator?
Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.38.07 PM.png


Hyperdimensional Objects

Twisting, impossible objects intertwine with the body of the celestial snake.
Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.38.41 PM.png


Divine Weapon

The Axe Itself
Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.38.21 PM.png


Random Shots of Neat Stuff

Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.39.33 PM.png


Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 10.39.52 PM.png


Lotus.png

And that wraps it up. I do hope you've enjoyed. Please have a look at all of the incredible entries below. They are posted in the comments:)

Here:
https://steemit.com/art/@elohprojects/visionary-art-contest-advanced-competition-call-for-entries

And Here:
https://steemit.com/art/@elohprojects/visionary-art-contest-call-for-entries-week-2-of-2

Thank You So Much

Lotus.png

e*SignatureAndText small.png

Sort:  

This is wonderful my friend.

I'm stealing that for the wallpaper and follow for more

Very cool. 😎

Really nice!! Thanks for sharing the process. I love those details. What kind of music is he making?

Hello @elohprojects I love your work, really this spectacular, you have a lot of talent, I would like to reach your level in digital design! Greetings, I follow you, I give you Upvote and I give you Resteem and I invite you to see my drawings that are also digital but not as spectacular as this you did

Very good artistic work, I really liked the step by step, I congratulate you are very good and creative.

What a great art work or design rather. I really love looking at art work and i guess your art work catches my view for a long time

This is awesome. Thank you for joining in the fun with usI am finding some great artists.

i like how u combined all three themes in to one, really love the hyperdimensional snake, very technical and artfully created!

That is really awesome, looking at end result it is difficult to understand how you could put everything together but going through every step it is obvious that it is a multilevel layers of details and colors, I love vibrant color and this is really looks cosmic. I always was impressed by people who could created digital art, seems to me very complex field of work. Very good work :)

Awesome work.

This is the stuff of legend

ooooooooooh you had fun with this!!! it is great! :) >¥¥<

I love this one. The patterns really glow against the background. I am painting some guitar people myself recently :-O. coincidence?. Visual art and music combined for something else.

The first name to come to mind was "Joe Satriani". That is totally Joe.

You might like to send it to him. I think he'd really dig having you do an album cover. :D

Very Nice~!!

You've received an upvote from a @slothicorn! Click here to learn more! (@justatouchfey) ((.)ω(.))

Incredible! Theres so much amazingness to look at :D

I like the the awesome pattern and I dislike the guitarist. Would love to see some more pattern art from you. Thank you for sharing!

This is so freaking amazing. I am in awe of your mastery.....seriously, I love this. Thanks for doing the visionary art contest, there were some very cool things that emerged from it.