Drawing my self-portrait | An experiment

in #art7 years ago

And so, my colored pencils adventure continues. As I mentioned before, I am on a quest to be a better traditional artist - using colored pencils as media. It is undoubtedly a struggle to me still, but I want to think that I am slowly getting the hang of it.

Drawing my self-portrait

I therefore put myself to a test - draw myself. Draw a self-portrait. Help you put a face to my name. And below is the result.

my self portrait

Me

I know, I have really big eyes. They are the common target of ridicule among me and my friends. I have a huge helipad of a forehead. I have eyebags; in my defense, though, the reference picture was taken when I had no sleep at all (I was cramming my thesis manuscript). 

So there you have it. A picture of me... not too accurate, but my parents said the drawing certainly looked like me at least.

The drawing process

process gif

I'm slowly getting used to actually posting the processes involved when I draw. It's pretty fun, if I think about it. And it makes me more involved with the piece.

I'm all about that base. (If you didn't get this reference, then I'm sorry. 😂) As always, I begin with base sketches - the skeleton of the whole drawing and the main features involved. They are usually very, very lightly drawn, so I had to adjust the contrasting and lighting for you to at least see the lines. 

Colors! My favorite part as of late - colors! I always begin with the eyes, then the rest of the face. I have very limited colors, so I had to mix in layers upon layers of peach, pink, yellow-orange, black, brown... depending on how I saw the use fits.

Those strings... er, hair. Then the hair. The hair. My most hated part to draw. I began to really zoom in on my reference picture just to at least get a good semblance of my hair. I began the hair by drawing the most prominent strands or smth. It's pretty hard to explain.

More layers... like, more. I hated seeing the white spaces which meant I somehow missed spots in coloring. I sharpened my pencils again and added layers of colors to fill in the white spaces. It's a technique I learned while finding ways to, yeah, fill in those white spaces. 😂 Also, I try to make small circular strokes to avoid those stringy lines in the drawing.

SBD payout will be for my friend

Help send my friend Nathan @mysupermando to Sydney, Australia by upvoting this post. He has been accepted to attend the Harvard Project for Asian and International Relations (HPAIR) conference in Sydney. At the moment, he still doesn't have enough to send himself to the said conference, and to help him somehow, I decided to donate the SBD payout of this post. 

HPAIR invitation

On the other hand, you can also just contact him directly here at steemit @mysupermando if you wish to help him, too. He'll appreciate any help he can get.

Sort:  

Great @erangvee . Keep drawing and posting. Will follow you

Thank you @splus!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted and resteemed by @philippinetrail. We thank you for any support that you can give (Upvote, resteem, donate, delegate, or even comment). Please support #steemit-charityph tagged posts.

Please upvote this comment so we can continue to build this account if you like this initiative.

Thank you, @philippinetrail! 😊❤️️

You're welcome!

Great work! I hope you have some good response and participation. @erangvee

You're beautiful! <3
Inside and out! (^_^)/

Killliiiiiigggg! 😂 ❤️️ Thank you so much @tegoshei!

Yoooo, this is very good. I always felt weird when I drew myself in art class. I had no problem drawing other people though.

I felt weird drawing myself too! Imagine staring at your face for a very long time. 😂

Amazing artwork! Hoping your friend gets his flight.

Yes! I hope so, too. 😊 He really wanted to go so us his friends are trying to chip in any amount we can get.

Maybe make a blog post about it, a stand alone one. Then market him and why he is deserving to go there.

Congrats on another curie vote! Cool! You're awesome!

Thank you @deveerei! Yes, it was a pleasant surprise! I guess I could actually give out more than expected for my friend this time. 😉

That's good to hear. Wishing him luck. And a bon voyage.

Wow.... pwede.... husay.... really good... make it more improve then lets have business your talent.. hehehehe

Yoown thank you! HAHAHA. Feeling ko di ko na to magagawa pag may work na ako, pero sige, i-business natin. HAHAHAAHA

Nice ate. You already know who your next subject will be. You do not have a portrait of gabbie yet.

HAHAHA. Yes, no Gabbie yet. Send me a really good picture. I'll probably draw her after drawing Ate Celia - tagal na akong inuungutan noon na idrawing siya haha. 😂

this is excellent - what a great self portrait. Your honesty does you proud!! Following you now

Awww, thank you so much @sallybeth23! ❤️️😊

I am new an Artist as you …found it is a lot of fun if you like doing it ..

https://steemit.com/travel/@jyotirmay/some-beautiful-place-in-india

If you find it interesting UPVOTE and please click on the FOLLOW and let’s exchange comments in the future. Very much rewarding.

Good luck,
@jyotirmay

Wow! This looks so great. I love all the details you put into the strands of hair. Looks superb!! And your smile is so gorgeous. ^_^

Best of luck to your friend! I went ahead and resteemed <3

Legit! You are really kind, @pinqo! 😭 And thank you for the resteem! Let's cross our fingers and hope that he gets to attend the conference. 😊

This is amazing!!!! Keep it up dear :)

Thank you so much @steemlifestyle!

Interesting how you used pens to take your selfie...

lol. Great work!

LOL! 😂 I just made taking selfies harder for me haha. Thank you @minimaxco!

Love it! Really like it. It must've been a challenge and time consuming.

Thank you @coquiunlimited! 😊 Yes, it was time consuming and challenging -- because it was really weird staring at my face for hours. 😂😂😂 Thank you for stopping by!

wow...thats awesome.

Nice job! You have a lovely face, your eyes are wonderful

From one artist to another, very good work! I tried colored pencil over the years, it's tough. But your doing great, really detailed and thought out. Not rushed at all. Steem on my friend!

hello fellow artist! I'm glad that are both in "trending" tab. Although I'm new to this platform, I never felt so welcome. I gave you an upvote. I hope we can help each other in our Steemit journey! Peace! --> pinaynomad

Hi there @pinaynomad! WELCOME TO STEEMIT! 💕😊 Thanks for the upvote. Dropped by your channel to drop some upvotes, too. 😉

thanks girl! let's help each other and be a blessing alrighty? happy weekend! <3

I love you showing the gradual process of your drawing! It's amazing btw!

Thank you so much, @caila! And welcome to Steemit! 😊

Heeey, you hit level 53. (๑✧∀✧๑)I'm so proud of you. (๑>ᴗ<๑)

YAAAS! LOL. Thank you hahaha. It's all curie's doing I think. 😂