Save/As #006 : A Weekly Creative Boost from the Artists I Love

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Save-As_Thumbnail_006-01.png

When my creativity hits a wall, I look for inspiration in the work of the artists I love. For years, every time I see something that grabs my attention online, I right-click on the image and "Save As" into an ever-growing folder titled INSPIRATION. Now, as a means of keeping all of our creative juices flowing, I will randomly select ten images from my folder every week and share them here with you. I encourage you to follow the links to see more of each artist's work - there is always much more inspiration to be discovered!

Save-As_TitleBlocks_006-01.png

GrosEtienne_03.jpg

Mousse 2
Polyester foam
^ Etienne Gros ^


KangYoungmin_01.jpg

The Oddly Bookshelf
Stainless steel and wood | 2017
^ Youngmin Kang ^


LarameeGuy_04.jpg

Desert of Unknowing
Carved book | 2016-2017
^ Guy Laramee ^


LeeMike_01.png

Running Woman
Oil on mylar | 2017
^ Mike Lee ^


MagritteRenee_01.jpg

The Castle of the Pyrenees
Oil on canvas | 1959
^ René Magritte ^


OdutolaToyinOjih_01.jpg

Between the Margins
Charcoal, pastel and pencil on paper | 2017
^ Toyin Ojih Odutola ^


PesentiAlice_02.jpg

PesentiAlice_04.jpg

Papersmiths
Graphic design
^ Alice Pesenti ^


PopescuAna_05.jpg

Homes
Painting | 2017
^ Ana Popescu ^


SmithPhillipK_01.jpg

1/4 Mile Arc
Polished stainless steel posts | 2016
^ Phillip K. Smith III ^


TsangJohnson_04.jpg

Open Mind I
Ceramic | 2016
^ Johnson Tsang ^


Save-As_TitleBlocks_006-02.png

To "Save" a file implies keeping it as you found it. To "Save As" is to change it, to re-make it, to find something new that wasn't there before. There is an important distinction between plagiarizing someone else's work, and using it to unlock something in your own mind. In this section I will use the above images to unlock my creativity and see what comes out.

Every week, I will challenge myself to fill an entire page of my sketchbook with stream-of-consciousness ideas inspired by the images above. I challenge you to do the same! Feel free to share your thoughts and sketches in the comments below. My sketches will be quick and messy, and mostly futile, but every once in a while I hope a new and exciting idea finds its way onto the page.


This week I was most inspired by the Oddly Bookshelf by Youngmin Kang. His clever and playful bookshelf design reminded me of a playground seesaw, which lead me down the path of designing some new forms for the common seesaw.

IMG_7493small.jpg

If there's an artist/architect/designer whose work you find particularly inspiring, feel free to share their work in the comments below for consideration in future posts. Please do not share your own work, only the work of people who inspire you. Thanks for reading this edition of Save/As! Please resteem to share this resource with your fellow creative Steemians.


- Previous Editions -
#001 | #002 | #003 | #004 | #005

Save-As_FooterLogo-01.png

follow-erb.gif

Sort:  

Bottom left of the seesaw imagination could totally work. I was actually super drawn to the yellow in Papersmiths. It could be nice to have colour play like that in public furniture.

Okay, you said if there is an artist, architect, designer's work you find particularly interesting, share in the comments. So here goes. Your take on the see-saw reminded me of the design collective Daily Tous Les Jours. Do you know them? They do a wonderful job of conceptualising interactive public installations. 21 Balançoires is a project where they designed musical swings that harmonise when the users work together to produce sound. I think you'll like it :)

Thanks for sharing this @manouche! I remember seeing this in a blog when the 21 Swings project first came out, but I never looked further into it. I absolutely love the way the installation encourages such a creative and interactive experience for the visitors. I will definitely look into more of their projects!

Command+SHFT+N:
Youngmin Kang, Ana Popescu

Thanks Eric! :D

Glad you like them @mintvilla!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

As always great list and many artists to discover...

Thanks @heroldius! Glad you enjoyed it.