A Bit More Drawing: "Thursday" In Graphite

in #art6 years ago

Howdy Steemians!

How are you all today? My fog from yesterday has lifted again, it’s sunny outside (which always helps, and might mean I can go for a dip in the river this evening), and of course it is Summer Solstice today. So…

Happy Solstice

…to all of you. The longest day, the shortest night, and such a powerful day in the year.

I wanted to share another drawing of mine with you today, in advance of creating a series of ‘how-to’ drawing posts. If any of you are interested in this series, I’d be really interested to hear any questions you have or specific topics you’d like me to cover in the comments.

12823498_256266931388147_9177577239663446599_o.jpg

This piece of mine is the largest and most detailed pencil drawing I’ve done to date. It is based on one of my own, original reference photographs I took during a trip to London in 2016, during which I focussed on some #streetphotography - when I got home, I realised that I was excited to take one of my shots one step further - and turn it into a drawing.

This piece is called Thursday, it measures 40cm by 40cm and took 40+ hours to draw.

The reason I wanted to show you this piece is in response to a lot of questions I’ve had about equipment required for drawing. This piece was completed using 4 very accessible tools:

  1. Cartridge paper
  2. 2B pencil
  3. 4B pencil
  4. pencil eraser

And that’s it!

For me that’s the true joy of drawing with graphite- it’s completely inclusive, and you only need to spend a couple of pounds / dollars to get started. Sure, there are lots of other tools you can get your hands on which can add all sorts of exciting effects, and make certain things easier- but - as I hope this piece shows - you don’t have to have them to get started with drawing.

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day! Don’t forget to leave me questions and topics for my how-to series in the comments - and if you fancy it, I’d love a resteem and upvote :)

Eveningart x

Sort:  

Wow, that is an amazing drawing, there is so much detail in it. You are one talented lady! :)

Ah - thank you so much! It was a real test on my eyes as I was drawing it ;)

You have a good drawing. It would be interesting to see the original photo.

Thank you! Here you go... my original... FB_IMG_1529601528119.jpg

Wow! Love this!!! I love realistic drawings like this that is actually fun to look at and the eye moves around greedily.

Thank you so much! I wish there was a way I could have captured it full size ;) Sadly I sold it before I thought of scanning it. Thanks so much for stopping by. E x

Yeah I know the feeling. It is so wonderful to sell, but then your baby is gone. "Cries"

I know! And then that strange rush if you ever see them in their new homes!

I know! And then that
Strange rush if you ever see
Them in their new homes!

                 - eveningart


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Love it when they send photos of them framed..so joyful

Me too - I'm always intrigued what style frame and colour mount they go for!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow- thank you so much - that's a real honour. E x

That's indeed very detailed. I like it .. very well done.. I didn't even realize it was the longest day today until my friend mentioned it 5 minutes ago, funny to read this hear too a few minutes after that lol

Thanks so much - I'm glad you like it. I think it was most fun capturing the tiny faces of all the people in the background. That, and I love adding architectural details!

Yes- I think the Solstice landed at 11.07 this morning - always funny when you find something out in real life, and then two seconds later read it again online! Thank you for stopping by E x

very lovely drawing, crazy how someone can add so much detail to one specific image and point out of many elements.

Thank you!Yeah... I've got to admit, I did get a bit obsessive about the details in this one. I realised I may have gone a bit far when I found myself drawing the face that you can see through both windows of one of the taxis!

your a perfectionist haha!! I wouldnt say that's a bad trait

:) Maybe not a bad one... but it can be an inconvenient one when you have a deadline to hit and a customer waiting ;)

you need to go check out @mikesthoughts posts about his journey to learn to teach himself to draw. He is a GREAT photographer in his own right.

He is making me want to learn to draw and now your going to give lessons? I really need to go by some pencils LOLLL very, very soon!

Yay! Grab some pencils!! I always recommend you only need a 2b and 4b to get started :)

I headed over to @mikesthoughts and have followed him - what a mine of incredible creativity and talent! I love his style, and he's another one I'll be visiting daily from now on - thanks for giving me the heads up!! E x

Drawing full scenes is hard... I really like this piece <3

Thank you so much! E x

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you so much @isaria and @msp3k- what a lovely surprise! E x