Happy Lunar Eclipse!! Step by Step Illustration; My Tribute to the Blue Super Moon in Leo <3

in #art6 years ago

Hello my lovelies!!!! Hope that you are feeling charged up and empowered with the super blue blood moon!! This is a gorgeous , incredibly rare occurance, and we had a lovely view of the eclipse here in Montana !

BeFunky Collage.jpg

I was inspired by today's blood moon in Leo for my drawing in my journal today :) I designed a simple but cute design, using the leo symbol in the center of my lunar circle, and adding small "crystals" around the edges. The symbols across the top are Malachim for "Prosper". Malachim was an alphabet published by Heinrich Cornelius Agrippa in the 16th century. I started with pencil,and quickly began to transition to my sharpie fine tip pen.

Snapchat-246585928.jpg

Next, I added in the bulk of the crystals, switching from the sharpie fine point ink pen, to the faber castell markers for a bolder look. There are a few minor line problems since i was drawing in marker, not pencil, but I still really like how it came out.

Snapchat-1134421837.jpg

Next i began to add color, starting out with a lovely blue, using a highlighter and a blue faber castell marker to get a little bit of dimension. At this point, I also added the lower circles for accent and to tie the top alphabet to the moon in the center, and down to the bottom of the page, giving it a little more cohesiveness (in my opinion.)Blue is often associated with depth and stability. It symbolizes trust, loyalty, wisdom, confidence, intelligence, faith, truth, and heaven.

Snapchat-1091212399.jpg

Next I added greeen crystals ,and filled in the small circles of the lettering with green marker as well. It symbolizes growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility. Green has strong emotional correspondence with safety. Dark green is also commonly associated with money.The green in this drawing to me embodies the idea of prosperity, and the overall feel that I was trying to draw into this quick sketch.

Snapchat-85620678.jpg

Third I decided to add yellow crystals to fill out the remaining spaces. Yellow stands for freshness, happiness, positivity, clarity, energy, optimism, enlightenment, remembrance, intellect, honor, loyalty, and joy. I love the way that the yellow tied the blue and green together in this design. At this point I also colored in each orb at the bottom of the page, sticking with the simple tri-tone design that I had begun.

Snapchat-1315297220.jpg

I added a few final details, and decided that this one was finished :) I know it is a really simple and plain sort of drawing , but I still really like it anyway :) I usually don't use markers, so it was a nice challenge for me :)

Snapchat-100552619.jpg

Thank you so much for checking out my artwork,and my blog here on steemit :) Follow me for more original content !!

0131182316c.jpg
BRIGHTEST BLESSINGS!!
SO MUCH LOVE!!
Evening Star

Sort:  

wow Amazing
you are wonderful artist

I was so excited about this and the night before was clear skies. Alas very next day was completely clouded over with tons of snowfall. :(

Thanks for your post though! Love the artwork and though you put into it.