Dia de los Muertos - Day of the Dead - Marigold Treats

in #art7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0228.JPG

I've been waiting for such a long time to show this painting! Day of the dead has come around and I want to show you the process and thinking behind it.

creature corp profile pic.jpg

A while ago I brought up this character that I like to draw a lot. A skull-dog, sometimes with a third eye. I love to paint and draw them to express complex emotions. I knew for Day of the Dead I wanted to include them. It is a happy holiday, celebrating death. Day of the Dead is so interesting to me because of that. I try to show death in my artwork in a positive way, a part of the cycle of life.

IMG_0472.JPG

For the painting, I blocked the border with painters' tape, and started with the darkest colors first.

IMG_0034.JPG

I then worked in the colors of the marigolds and skeleton.

IMG_0394.JPG

And finally...

tumblr_nyakhyRmNU1tl0nzqo1_1280.jpg

This was a very fun and festive painting. I was lucky to get my hands on nice watercolor paper. Thank you for taking a look, happy Day of the Dead/Dia de los Muertos!

Sort:  

great painting!

Beautiful! I love it, resteemed. The background really makes it pop with the marigolds.

woooow... I love this concept... I always like characters that live between the realms of life and death. Really like the idea of the third eye and the idea of it being a mask too, i'm curious about the story of this creature... Following you for more stuff like this <3. Resteemed.

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot .