Nature's colour palettes #2: Sun King

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Header.jpg

The absolute beauty in collaborating with nature!

.
A recent trip to the Seychelles inspired another addition to my nature's colour palettes series. This time, "Raja" the lion met the sun as it set over the Indian Ocean and gave birth to
"Sun King"
*Lion King "Circle of Life" plays in my head *
naaaaaants ingonyamaaaaa bagiiiiiithi baba

19143204_1571214686243015_4939415590213664815_o.jpg

I also want to note this photo has been digitally edited
I initially tried to cut it out (and one day I will successfully do it in this detail to this standard!!) but it just didn't come out in a way that did the image I had in my head justice.


The process...

.
The original piece took around 60+ hours to draw with pigment pens. I then had prints of it made and carried one around until I found a backdrop that felt right... One evening I sat in front this beautiful view playing my drum and saw the sun shining through Raja's forehead in my mind. So I grabbed him from my rental car and held it up, letting my imagination do the rest.

Next, I set up my tripod, took one photo of the background and then another holding up the print. Later on, I layered the one photo on top of the other and spent a few hours erasing the parts I wanted the colour to shine through.

A little increase in saturation and few lighting changes later and there we have it!


I'm currently working on developing my paper cutting skills...

.
But until then I'm testing my patience in the world of photoshop and loving bringing these pieces to life with the help of my mate nature!

With love,
Faye


http://www.fayehalliday.com

Steemit footer.png
http://www.steemit.com/@fayehalliday

Sort:  

The colors that came through on this are stunning. So glad to see you back online with us.

This is awesome! Well thought out and put together. So much effort and time put in. I hope to see more work from you.

Thank you for the kind words :-) I've been taking a little digital break but I'm going to start sharing on here more often!

I really like the idea, and the effect. Maybe a laser cutter would help in actually cutting the design out?

Wow, I've just seen how affordable some of these are on the internet. Thanks for the tip, I'll look into it!

Awsome great job. Welcome Back

Thank you! :-) So in love with your photography journals, by the way. Followed and looking forward to seeing more of your work!

This is so vibrant and has a great presentation. Great job art friend.

Thank you for the support! Followed and looking forward to seeing your comic tutorials :-)

Let me know when you cut out prints for sale! Perhaps window stickers?

Nils! Is that you? Window stickers are an amazing idea, I'll look into it. Thank you!