Glass insects enjoying a nice nug.

in #art6 years ago

AC4012D7-47B4-4B40-87B1-6C7DDFF18083.jpeg

Wesley Fleming, also known as Vetropod, has perfected his eye for nature. His sculptures of insects are spot on. Everything from size to color is on point.

Here is a little bit about the artist from his own words.

“Growing up in rural Pennsylvania, I spent my days exploring the space beneath logs and rocks or reading science fiction. As a result the shapes and colors of the natural world, as well as my own wacky imagination, are the main sources for my work.

With some of my glass beetles for example, I try to capture and mimic an actual species with intricate detail on the tiny limbs and thorax. While in other pieces, I attempt to bring into being a creature from an inner reality or a dream. In some cases I merge the fantastical with the real through choice of color palette or by referencing familiar images in a mythical work.

Regardless of the end result, I find great joy in sculpting glass - witnessing the transformation of a brittle and cold substance to a molten and pliable material then back to a solid form again.

All of my sculptures are individually hand-made over a torch, using glass rods acquired from Venice (Italy) and properly annealed in a digitally-controlled kiln. I welcome any comments and ideas you have about my glass art!”
—Wesley Fleming (Vetropod)

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbJZLKzPbqA

So strange coincidence, i have never heard of this guy before today, and i woke up to a message from an ex girlfriend telling me to check him out. i didnt have time to look him up this morning but as soon as i get to work and go on Steemit i see this. wierd. Dope glass tho!

Haha no way that’s crazy. Yea thanks he’s so dope.

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.26% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @filpaladino!