Streetart Challenge #4 Update 2 -A ethical dilemma?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello, fellow Streetart enthusiasts!

I have been plagued by my stomach problems the past two days and kept my steeming to a minimum. But I have gathered strength to summarise the standing and give an update.

We are looking good with 7 valid entries this time. This is what it looks like:

STRART-round-4.png

To see better, right-click and open in new window. It is safe to say the europeans dominate this time. Maybe because they are closer to my timezone. I miss the asian and US participants, as they make it easier to edit my map. Anyhow, I like what I see.

Happy news to everyone who has joined:

Out of the blue we got an upvote fro Randowhale! I consider it a donation, so thank you to @artcurator for this gift. Everyone head over and upvote some for this gift!

My ethical dilemmas

Sometimes when you steem you start to wonder who all these people are. And this time I have noticed 2 things about two of the entries. It concerns @erikflynn and @xdark21

First, Erika: She has used Esteem app to upload. There is nothing wrong with that. However, Esteem uses bots to promote their app and she got 8 votes out of the blue! There is nothing wrong with that either. But some might think this is cheating. And I understand the argument. I never considered it a problem, since bots usually go for the opening post. But I forgot Esteem. Even though I use it myself sometimes. So we might get a bot winner this time, unless the human voters want it different. This has triggered some thinking on my behalf, and I might change the rules in order to level the playing field. And mind you, a bot can be a human too! It is technically possible to do a human override. Though I doubt it is the case this time.

Second, xdark21: Self-upvoting is allowed. But what happens when "self" is no less than three accounts? I doubt there is a coincidence it was upvoted by @xdark22 and @xdark23. Of course it is the same person!

What to do? Personally I am going to do nothing with it. I follow rules and try to make it predictable and treat everyone fair. But I must say I have thought about it a great deal. It is up to you to decide. We might get a bot voted winner this time. And even though it is possible to punish both, I strongly recommend to not do it. Both has followed the rules. But I might change the challenge for the future.

Curators needed!

And this time I'm serious! You have seen my dilemmas and there is one thing to do if you mean something with your curation, head over and vote! And I strongly recommend to right click every image and open them in a separate window. the previews are very small and you get a totally different perspective when viewed full-size.

Leaderboard:

@erikaflynn 11 votes
@coinkingz 5 votes
@xdark21 3 votes
@mrzoltan 3 votes
@furious-one 2 votes
@oneup 1 vote
@tattoodjay 0 votes

Late arrival: @bragih 1 vote

Where do I vote?

In the comment section here:
https://steemit.com/art/@funkit/the-steemit-streetart-challenge-4

Dont forget to add to the prize on your way out!

Badge -snakkeboble Warnock .png

Sort:  

Perhaps bots it is the main reason why many contest organizers choose a winner independently or invite a third party judge.
In my case you may not count these 8 votes and I think it will be fair. You see, I didn't ask for these upvotes, just when you post from eSteem sometimes you get a small bonus, sometimes not. I don't know from what it depends.
The truth is that I didn't use special voting services like @minnowsupport, @booster or @randowhale and I have only one account here.

I know, Erika. And I don't blame you. I also strongly disagree that a centralized decision should be made. That's why I have chosen to not think of it. But when I saw the signature eSteem bots, I thought it is not fair.

To me the failure of the curators that we saw last time and perhaps this time too is a wake-up that it maybe is in vein.

I think the winner should reach at least 20 votes. Before hardfork 19, it was quite common. After it has been a disaster.

So I'm thinking.

And I discuss it openly to level the playing field. Not being able to reach a consensus is a reminder that it might be too much to ask for the curators to do what they pride themselves of.

I made the rules and in my rule book a vote is a vote. And the winner is the one with most votes. Regardless. If some disagree, they have the choice to vote different. Making informed choices makes it fair.

And if someone is unfamiliar with the eSteem bots, take a look at them while I post with eSteem. It should work on this post too.

So can I release the bot army now?

If you have one, yes. It is impossible for me to distinguish a human from a machine. Though in this case I recognized the pattern.

I could use some booster, but hesitating because of the dilemmas above. the big mistake I did not send it from eSteem :)

You entered. To everyones joy. That is the most important.

Ok, just a bit of joy for me. If you don't like, remember, I had 5 votes :)

So @mrzoltan is you as well? Bugger! I would never have thought!

haha, nope
you can see the picture of me on @coinkingz but @mrzoltan is my next-door-neighbor, you can find his picture on his site. Same name, Wrong guess :)

I understand your dilemma and think you have made the right call

I have done s post asking people to visit and vote

Note I did not ask people to vote for mine but for their favorite

Cheers

Thank you. It is hard to distinguish. Even harder to judge. So I leave it to the human crowd to decide.

Its great what your doing hosting this no making the time :)

I just hope before it closes I get one vote LOL

There is nothing stoping you from doing it yourself. I'll run another update tomorrow or Saturday to gather more curators.

ITs OK I got one vote so I am a happy camper, I am funny with things like this it just doesn't seem right to me to vote for my own so I voted for the one I liked the most that wasn't mine :)

Good sportsmanship. I like it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.