Animal Crossing on Goauche: Alleyway

in #art3 years ago

Hi everyone! It has been a month since I posted and I hate it. The laptop that I was using and used to store all the photos I took on my artwork processes was broken. I mean the keyboard does not function properly. I hate it! Anyway, I still need to get it fixed first so that I could use it again. But prior to that, I need to wait for my job. It has been a year since my brother and I applied. We were supposed to start weeks ago but something came up.

Anyway, too much of that, I'll start now with the art process.

20210305_181221_0000.png

For today, I will share to you the artwork I made. The reference was taken from someone's Twitter. The person screenshot a scene from his/her Animal Crossing New Horizons account. I am sorry I forgot from whose account this is.

20210215_200914.jpg

I started off by sketching what I wanted to paint. I used a thick board paper instead of a watercolor paper. It is not because I have no watercolor paper, but the set of board papers was the first one that I saw on my stash of art materials.

20210305_141845.jpg

As you can see, I decided to paint a portion of the image. I was not being lazy but I prefer this alleyway. I also used a mechanical pencil to sketch. No, there was no ruler because I am not fond of straight lines that much on artworks.

20210305_142646.jpg

20210305_143430.jpg

I wanted to paint the entire paint area with a specific color just like how others artists would do it, but then I have thought that I might water down the other colors a lot in the long run and it might ruin my work instead. Hence, I decided to paint some areas on my sketch with specific colors.

For the walls, I used yellow ochre from my Himi Miya Gouache set mixed with a bit of reddish pink tone to add some accent. For the pavement, I used grey gouache paint mixed with a bit of yellow ochre. I then added reddish brown for the corners of the wooden walls and used to make some lines.

20210305_150247.jpg

As you can see, I painted the grass area with green mixed with a bit of yellow. It took me awhile though because I put the wrong colors on some areas such as on the left side with the wheel of a bicycle. I also painted the vending machine with black mixed with a bit of white to make it lighter. On the upper corner, I just used black to make it darker. I admit, the lines make it hard for me to work on this because my right hand is really shakey.

20210305_152109.jpg

The portion of top is the hardest for me. The images for the soda bottles being lined up inside a vending machine. I made the glass not pure white but mixed with a hint of blue so that I could still be able to differentiate it from the soda bottles.

The plant on top, cat grass, was pretty hard to make as well because no matter how opaque the colors are, I still need to add few coats of my chosen color so that it would be visible.

20210305_153052.jpg

As you can see, I painted the other areas as well. The plants on the grass, the airconditioner placed outside the shop, and a lot more. I really was concentrating at that moment because I wanted to finish my work.

20210305_161234.jpg

And then I added few more touches using my line brush. I wish to have a smaller line brush though so I could work better with other details.

Love, Johanna Gail
Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.
Sort:  

It looks real gail, that 2nd image. I don't have many words about art because I don't understand it well. I love the art of course but I mean the way you explain it or express it through art. But it's true, I love this one. Simple and very clean.

Thank you. :)