Art Blog: A Scene from Bowerbird

in #art3 years ago

Hi everyone! It has been ten days since I gave an update on my blog. Anyway, I hope you are all doing fine. Well, I always say that. Haha! Nothing really new for me, but I have a lot of things to share to you. I just wish to have the energy to share things here because I find the weather not fit for me to write.

Anyhow, let's begin. I'm just going to share with you how I went over this artwork.

20210202_155116_0000.png

As usual, I used my gouache. Aside from the opacity it produces, it is a very forgiving art medium. It also allows me to have up to 5 layers without compromising my work. I just really need go be extra careful in plotting my artwork.

20210110_123117.jpg

As you can see, I have used my tablet that has been with me for almost four years. I made a rough sketch of the photo I took when my boyfriend and had a coffee on a chill Sunday afternoon.

I did not use a watercolor paper but rather a thicker board paper with texture. I'm not sure what it is but it works perfectly fine with my illustrations.

20210110_123530.jpg

After making a rough sketch, I painted the walls with grey. I watered down the paint because I wanted to create a certain depth on my work, well that was what I thought at first. It ended then as my guide. I actually wanted to achieve a watercolor effect on this artwork but I was like nye, maybe next time.

20210110_123846.jpg

And then I painted some wooden parts of the cafe with different shades of brown. The table counter was more like with a tone of ted.

20210110_124639.jpg

And then painted the other details with their respective colors. I really said to myself at first that I do not know what the outcome would be but I do hope it would be something I would like to post on my wall.

20210110_130827.jpg

I made the grill of the window darker and the metal bars that hold the counter. My hands were really shakey that is why it took me awhile to finish this portion.

20210110_133315.jpg

And as you can see, I made some details of my work more refined. I honestly had a hard time working with the chairs because I find the curves very complex to work on with.

20210110_134629.jpg

I wanted to make the curtain on the corner pretty but I guess that was the best that I could do. Of course, I was afraid to mess up when working with white as I might end up smudging it.

20210110_142156.jpg

I then worked with the other details. It was pretty fun and at some point frustrating because there were times I wanted to achieve something on my work but then it felt like my right hand would not cooperate. Well, that basically means I need to work harder right. I need to practice more and stop slacking with this passion of mine.

20210110_151709.jpg

And with few touches, I am finally done with this work.

Love,
Johanna Gail


Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.