Dead Sunflowers

in #art3 years ago (edited)

One of the things I like doing is checking on the works of other people. The very reason for this is that I would not only learn who they are and their techniques, I could also learn how they perceive the world with their own eyes.

It cannot be denied, and as I always say, that I want to see how the famous Vincent Van Gogh has viewed the world when he was alive. It is said to be that he views it amazingly and is manifested by his works, but I believe there is more to understand.

20210111_132051.jpg

The one of the left is Van Gogh's work, the right is mine. I used his work as my reference. According to the internet , He did his series of Sunflowers when he was in Arles, France. It is just so amazing to find that he has focused on art for a short period of time as a profession artist before parting the world, and yet his works are all amazing. It goes to show that he was born with such talent.

His work was made with oil on canvas, while mine was made with watercolor on watercolor paper. The color is just so vibrant though because I used both of my Winsor and Newton watercolor and my Graham watercolor that my boyfriend gave to me. I would appreciate to have Mijello, well, when I get admitted back to work or earn enough HBD.

20210111_132337.jpg

The strokes for this work, as you can see were pretry simple. I used round and flat brushes. For the background which I decided to paint first, I used a one-inch watercolor flatbrush.

Unlike gouache, I had been making a lot of yellows for this artwork. This would allow me to check as to whether or not the colors that I have mixed would look with the colors I put on the surface of the watercolor paper. I just do not like swatching colors before everything else.

20210111_135443.jpg

As you can observe, I can never be a "master copier" for the very reason that I could never view Van Gogh's work the same way he has viewed it. I can only be fascinated by his strokes and his choice of color. Aside from that, we had been using different art mediums.

It is so hard to achieve the brown that he used. It is so hard to make the vase that round. It is so hard to achieve what he has achieved and yet that would never stop me from honing my skills as an artist.

Love, Johanna Gail
Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.
Sort:  

Lovely, I would love to hang this on my wall.

Thank you Ms. Sheryl 😍

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you.