Making of "Alien Bust" - ZBrush/Maya/Arnold

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I just Installed the latest version of ZBrush, version 4R8. I bought the software last year because I really want to learn it. I am more the 2D guy, but I enjoy practicing 3D-Sculpting from time to time. I was just looking at some old files and I stumbled over this.


AlienGuy_withBump_003_PS_01.jpg


I just wanted to show you a little breakdown. I started with a Z-Sphere and then started modeling away using DynaMesh in ZBrush. I did not really have a concept when I was doing this. All the textures where created in ZBrush using Poly-Paint.


IterationAnim001.gif


When I was done with high-res model, I imported a low-res version of the model into Maya 2017 (Student version). I exported some textures out of ZBrush and I used them together with a basic Arnold Skin-Shader and tweaked it to my needs. The Bump-Maps gives the high-frequency detail (fine skin details), the displacement maps will displace the geometry at render-time so that it looks like the high-res model I created in ZBrush, by adding back in all the wrinkles and medium-res details . The main diffuse-map gives the main color, and the secondary diffuse-map is used in the skin-shader for the Subsurface Scattering.


Textures_002.jpg


After the shader was done I placed some Arnold area-lights inside of Maya.


MayaScene_001.jpg


And this is the final result using the Maya Arnold renderer:


AlienGuy_withBump_003_PS_01.jpg


Please up-vote/re-steem if you liked this post and follow me. Check out my other posts.

If you have any other suggestions/critique for future posts let me know in the comment section.

Sort:  

nice work! I like zbrush

Thanks! I love ZBrush, it is just hard to master.. at least for me =)

This is sooooooo impressive! I'm also trying to explore zbrush tool, but results are quite disappointing at this moment ^^;
I hope to get inspiration from your marvelous works/

Thanks! Tell me about it, for me it was a really frustrating process until I started getting something decent out of it. The Move-Brush is your friend! And when you get into DynaMesh a lot of things get easier =)). In case you need some online references:

https://pixologic.com/zclassroom/
http://zbrushtuts.com/
https://gumroad.com/redbeard

The RedBeard tutorials cost a few $$ but they are really good. I have 2 of them.

oh, I'm surprised with your unexpected kindness, thank you so much for the information!
I'll try some of them and hope I can show what comes out later on :D

I would love to get into 3D, one day...

Go for it! It is really rewarding when you start getting results! In case you need some free software to play around with check out my other post. I am trying to create a list with good/production-ready software for 2D and 3D.

Congratulations @giorgiomarino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is quite hard to say a new word in all-that-monsters style after Dominic Qwek I should say, but U did it!!)

excellent concept!!

Thanks for the kind words. Actually that is a giant compliment since. I saw some work of Dominic Qwek in the past, and it is amazing, but was not aware of the artists name. I think I will analyse his work better and maybe get some inspiration at some point.

Cheers..