[FR]+[EN] Step by step #11 - Fantasy gladiator girl

in #art6 years ago (edited)

vignette.jpg

Hi Steemers!

Today, I'll explain you the different steps of the drawing and the color process of my illustration of a fantasy gladiator.

Aujourd'hui, je vais vous expliquer les différentes étapes du dessin et de la mise en couleur de mon illustration sur le thème "gladiateur".

fin.jpg

First I had to find a good position!
J'ai commencé par la position générale du corps.
step line 1.jpg

Then I began to work on the clothes... It took me time, I didn't know what to choose...
Puis je me suis attaquée aux vêtements... J'ai un peu tâtonné, je ne savais pas quoi choisir...

step line 2.jpg

I had many hesitations, but finaly I choose a more barbarian look :-)
*J'ai pas mal hésité et finalement j'ai opté pour un look un peu barbare, moins tissus fluides...

step line 3.jpg

Ok, now lets begin the colors! I first made the head, that's what I prefer. But I didn't put too much details, I prefer working on the whole illustration, and then coming back to finish the différent parts.

*Commençons la couleur! J'ai démarré par ce que je préfère : la tête. J'ai poussé un peu les détails mais sans finaliser, car je préfère travailler d'abord globalement le tout, avancer sur l'ensemble de l'illu en même temps, et puis travailler de manière plus approfondie les différents éléments... *
steps colo 1.jpg
steps colo 2.jpg

steps colo 3.jpg
steps colo 4.jpg

At this step, it's nearly finished, but the white head didn't satisfy me. I first drew a tatoo on it (in the line), but it complicates the drawing and it's not easily understandable. It's more esthetic without anything, except the fact that it's too white....

*A ce stade, j'ai quasiment terminé mais la tête toute blanche me gêne un peu. J'avais dessiné au départ un tatouage, dans le dessin au trait, mais il complique la lecture, c'est plus élégant sans rien, à part que c'est trop blanc. *

steps colo 5.jpg

So I decided to add a strong shadow, that gives more force to the image, and it's also more logical with the shadows on the face. Finaly, I reinforced the contrasts on her chest, and corrected the shadow that was not very logic... And that's it! Here is the final result!

J'ai donc rajouté une ombre assez forte, qui donne plus de caractère à l'ensemble, et qui est plus cohérente avec l'ombre sur le visage. J'ai également accentué les contrastes sur sa poitrine, et corrigé l'ombre, qui n'était pas tout à fait logique... Et voici le résultat final :-)

steps colo 6.jpg

And just for pleasure, a little close up on her face, that I really enjoy!
Et pour le plaisir, un petit close up sur le visage, que j'aime tout particulièrement!

close up.jpg

I hope you liked it!
And if you enjoy my work, please don't forget to upvote, resteem, and follow. Thank you!

See you soon with a new painting!

*J'espère que vous avez aimé cet article!
Si vous appréciez mon travail, n'oubliez pas de voter, de me suivre et même de resteemer :-)

A très vite,*

Hélène

Sort:  

Kick ass work. Nuff said.

I’m always blown away after seeing your progress shots. It’s so cool seeing the image slowly come to life. I love everything about this. The movement in her hair, the swords with the blood details, and her expression..it’s all perfect! Well done! :)

Thank you so much @vermillionfox!! You're very kind, t makes me very happy :-)
And thank you for the resteem!

C'est vraiment super de nous partager chacune des étapes de tes créations :D @helenelenoble

C'est un plaisir pour moi :-)

Dear Artist @helenelenoble ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Welcome ! upvoted

Hi @fineartnow! Good idea, your page is interesting..; I'm following you :-)

Congratulations @helenelenoble! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

She's so dangerous seeming * ___ * Very lovely work, I like her attitude <3 And your colours are amazing * ___ *

upvotes

Thank you very much @veryspider!! You make me feel happy :-)

I like the light here so much

Thank you very mich for these kind word @dunsky! Yes, the light here is what makes the illustration interesting, I had lot of fun painting this!