You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some new purchases and a couple of works in progress

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I love pietersite! It’s definitely unique! I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I love to see fellow jewelry artists progress. By the way, what’s the biggest gauge wire you use? My fingers hurt with 16 but I like 16 gauge. It looks like you use a much bigger gauge. Have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

id never come across it before, it is beautiful!
biggest i have is 6mm which i bought in error as its just silly and near impossible to work haha but biggest i use regularly is 2mm. its good for the starting frame to build everything else off of.

Haha 6mm, that is impossible to work with. I forgot you were in the UK. We measure by gauge. 2mm is a pretty thick size. I use 16 gauge and that’s 1.2mm. I’m not sure if I can work with anything larger. Im thinking 1.6mm will be the largest I will get.

the 2mm is pretty heavy but it is really useful for the base, its hard to add in later as it bends everything out of shape trying to work it but if you use it as your very first wire it can be a useful solid frame.