Daily Doodle #16: The Plover

in #art6 years ago

I’m a Plover, not a Flighter.


IMG_7971.JPG

Good day to you all!

After a weekend hiatus and a timelapse post (that took me forever to pull together, btw), I’m finally back with the next daily doodle! I actually drew these guys last Friday, but just hadn’t made the time to split them up into multiple images. I did try to make multiple images like I normally do with these posts, but without the main figure, it was hard to arrange them into balanced compositions. So, I gave up trying to split the sketch page into three images. The trade off, though, is that you get a colored sketch (colored digitally using Tayasui Sketches for iPhone)!

JPEG image.jpeg

So, originally I chose the plover because their chicks are cute. Formerly being a huge lover of anime, I am a total sucker for Kawaii creatures. Once I started collecting reference images, however, I came across the dude you saw at the top of the page (sans scarf, of course). He just looked so awkward, almost like he was sort of waiting for the train, or the bus. I actually may still draw or paint an image of him standing on the platform with a bunch of other clothed Plovers, but I try not to make large project plans because, as I’ve said countless times before, my daughter eats up a lot of my free time.

That’s it for today. I don’t have another drawing on deck yet, unfortunately, so If you’d like to make some suggestions for the next doodle, please do so in the comments and I’ll see what I can do. Thanks for all your support and for reading my post.

Until next time!

IMG_7972.JPG


16 June 2018
12:05 - 13:03
(58 minutes)


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #sketch #drawing #pencil #slothicorn #dailydoodles #dailysketches #birds #animals #wildlife #akward #cold #scarf #winter #waiting #busy#silly #funny #cute #kawaii #digital

Sort:  

Very cute! I love your art!🤗
It's almost like Peter Rabbit!

Thank you! It’s been a while since I’ve read that book, so I had to look up the illustrations. I can see some similarities, good eye!

So beautiful!

Thank you!

I can look at ur bird sketches all day. Great work as usual 👏👏
Upv0ted 🙂

Thank you so much! I'm having lots of fun drawing them, so I'm glad people enjoy looking at them :)

The little chick is so cute... more like shy... love these.... 😍

Thank you! I have so many reference photos of Plover chicks now 😊

I'm sure I will see more of it soon!