Freewrite #2- My Favourite words

in #art6 years ago

Since time immemorial human beings have used different means for communicating and expressing their feelings. Speech has been the most common form of communication. But not everyone is able to express themselves through speech. So, they choose other creative ways of expression. Every person has their own unique way of truly expressing themselves. Whether it be through body movements, painting, singing, writing or speaking.

I have always been an introvert. I don't talk much with people I am not familiar with. And I talk a lot to people I am close to. Inorder to reveal a hidden part of me I started writing. Since then I have poured out every emotion, every thought and every fantasy of mine on paper. I may not be perfect at what I do but atleast it's something that keeps me alive and happy.
I love learning new words from different languages. They usually serve as my poetic muse. They are a great source of inspiration during my writer's block.

It's essential that what one writes must reach other person's mind and heart. People usually believe that the language one uses must be simple and easy. The words that we use in our writing must not be totally other worldly. Which is very much true. But using a few beautiful words always adds a bit more smoothness to your writing. Good words are the most important aspect of writing. So, I decided to make a listicle of some of my favourite words. Here we go:-

  • Aubade

Google meaning

a poem or piece of music appropriate to the dawn or early morning.

Aubade is a French word which originated around 17th century. It is a morning love song about lovers seperating in the morning. Aubade is the opposite of serenade which is an evening love song.
The lyrical short poem Aubade by William Shakespeare is a perfect example.

aubade.jpg

PoemHunter

Another example is The Sun Rising by John Donne. It is one of the most romantic poems I have ever read. It definitely is my favourite.

sun rising by john donne.webp

Owclation

  • Zephyr

Google meaning

a soft gentle breeze.

Zephyr is an old English word. It evolved from the Greek word called Zephyrus. Zephyrus was considered to be the Greek God of west wind. He was also the God of Spring.
The history behind the entire word is very interesting. Also I love reading about Greek mythology. It inspires me to experiment with the fantasy genre.
The word Zephyr reminds me of the sweet sound of wind chimes, old books and the beach. It puts me in a calm mood.

zephyrus.jpg

Zephyrus

  • Petrichor

Google meaning

a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather.

The word originated around 1960s. It was the result of scientific study conducted by CSIRO scientists Isabel 'Joy' Bear and Richard (Dick) Grenfell.

I didn't know of this word until this year. I was given a writing prompt on the topic Rain. I usually define the scent of it as musky or earthy. But I wanted to know about the exact term. So, when I searched I came across this unique yet wonderful word.

petrichor.jpg

Petrichor

  • Sifar

Sifar is an Urdu word which means zero. It also refers to as nothingness. It is a very simple word. But when you read in between the lines there are a lot of interpretations one can make. This word makes my imagination go wild. When I first tried to use this word as a prompt I wasn't very sure of what I would write. But once you sit and start doing the job the words automatically flow.

sifar.png

Rekhta Foundation

  • Mellifluous

Google meaning

of a sound) pleasingly smooth and musical to hear.

The word mellifluous originated from the Late Latin word mellifuus. I think this is the word I have used the most. I love the sound of it. Also it reminds me of the moon and my childhood.

mellifluous.jpg

Mellifluous

-©Pratibha Badgal AA


Hello everyone. These were a few of my favourite words. I will be posting a part 2 soon.

Question Of The Day

What are some of your favourite words?

Do let me know. Thank you for reading. Stay happy and healthy. Much love.

-PB

20180410_101026_0001.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Illusions16 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love good words - like mellifluous, which is a word that is itself musical and beautiful to the ears. A word that has its meaning wrapped up in the way it sounds. Good post.

Thank you @blockurator. It really is a beautiful word.

Thank you for posting this content.
My favorite words are the right word used in the proper situation. English is second speaking language for me and sure many steemians.
I will choose Peace.
A great word filled with so much wisdom yet simple to share.

Great choice @oadissin. Although it's a simple word but it is the most powerful one. English is also not my native language :)

Congratulations @illusions16, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 103

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Thank you so much @asapers. I am honoured to be a part of this wonderful community :)

I love a good word as well as a good post. This post definitely falls under the latter. I learned how to say thank you in Mandarin Chinese and Albanian this summer. A few great words I love are auspicious, ubiquitous and in the vein of Shakespeare... protege and forsooth.

Thank you very much @jbreheny. Learning a foreign language is the most unique experience. Great choice of words :)

Those are some tricky words I like learning about them good stuff

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @illusions16! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @illusions16! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!