Pencil Drawing

in #art3 years ago

Developing my drawing skills

I have had a lot of fun recently developing my skills with pencil sketching. I was advised by an amazing artist in a couple of techniques that I would like to share that may help you with your drawing progression.

It is important to relax your eyes when viewing the subject of your drawing. As beginner sketchers we tend to focus on the details when the most important thing is to see the form of the subject. All forms have combinations of only 3 shapes. Circle/oval, square/rectangle, and triangle.

image.png

Take a look at this picture of this horse running for instance, if you focus on the details such as the musculature and the dynamics of the animal running it is easy for the eye to become overwhelmed. My artist mentor tells me that when the eye is overwhelmed the hand is too. You must relax your eyes and see the horse for the shapes with in the form. If you look at this drawing of mine you will see the series of circles, squares and triangles that actually make up what seems to be a complicated form.

image.png

He tells me do not be discouraged with your drawing. Allow yourself the grace of doing poorly and continue to let go of the drawings as you practice. Its not process of perfection but rather a process of accepting your imperfections and letting go. In this way drawing can be therapeutic in life as well.