Magical Door to Middle Earth in watercolor and ink - all process shots and description inside:)

in #art7 years ago

A few days ago @opheliafu created a post about a blue door (check it out here). I got really inspired with it, and began thinking about doors symbolism. A whole to something new? Something hidden?

Then I understood that I also have a favorite door, and it's green. The door Bilbo Baggins went through to meet the adventures. So today post is dedicated to it:)

And the process:

With no sketch, I started with ink at once. I try to make strokes rough, to imitate the wooden texture.

Not much for ink, time for watercolor. After filling the background with water I start putting splashes:

And so it is done, the door surrounded with fairy-tale mist.

Start working with the texture of the door itself:

And the stones:

Here I bought golden and silver acrylic paint, thank you @andrianna for the tip:) And this is the first time I'll be using it to create special effects:

Gold for the door, and silver for the background.

And the Gandalf sign, of course! Here I will use acrylic nacre blue.

Thank you for watching, hope you enjoyed it:) 

Thank you for voting and commenting:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Beuatiful! I love the Hobbit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (my dad read it to me several times as a kid!)

I learned how to read on Hobbit:) And still re-red all Tolkien creations from time to time:)

Yes - by the age of 16 I had read the Lord of the Rings three times, he he he. Love that universe. Shame they made such a commercial sell out mess of the Hobbit film, that made me sad.

I heard they're about to film Silmarillion. Enough for 10 season series...

OOOoooooooh.

Hii friend I have upvoted u so plzz follow & upvote me @shaikrafiq

14 reputation is not low enough? Want me to make it lower?

Here we go again...My God...

They're everywhere:) I'm baaaaaanning;)

Flag Wars revisited ahahaha can't stop laughing! :P :D

Oh, yes, forgot to flag him...:)

ahahaha! Do it, do it, do it now !!! :D (ok or maybe not, I feel kinda bad for the guy :P )

welldone great work @inber upvoted

Wow! Its really cool! No more words. Nothing to add. Thanks! :)

Finally, I saw that on my feed! :D I love the painting but this time I'm commenting to compliment your nails, they look awesome!!!!! :D Upvoted deary! :)

Thank you so much!
And thank you for noticing! In fact now for last few months) I'm finally proud of my nails! For 28 years I had troubles with it, cause of guitar, and then cause of painting - all the time I had only short and dirty ones. But two months ago I bought a lamp for Shellac, and now I'm such a happy woman:) I no longer break them, and this polish survives all my art experiments! And all the set cost me as much as it would be to do manicure and polish one time at a salon!
Sorry for lots of words, but I really searched for a solution for all my life and just found it!:):):)

I was wondering how you manage with the artworks actually :D I'm so happy for you and once more, yes they do look amazing!!!

It's a habit:) Soon I'll make them a bit shorter, but they don't actually avoid me painting. Until I don't do it directly with fingers:)

well I think it's obvious that they don't! Amazing nails and still amazing work! :D It's like me and the piano when I have long nails, I get it, only fingers! :D

I was watching the hobbit yesterday, what a coincidence!

Awwwww:) I watch and read Hobbit and Lord of the Rings all my life from time to time, it makes me feel fairy tale in my life:)