Poetry: Wake up people of the world!

in #art8 years ago (edited)

doves
Image by http://www.gratisography.com/

I hear a whisper, soft but clear
Smelling desperate, future fear
I feel a whiff of breezy fright
And hope about a restful night

The news are ugly, yet we stay
Quiet about the dawn of day
Where people vote like they are dumb
For presidents like Donald Trump

Brexit, ISIS, Erdogan
Oh, let's just give everybody a gun
Then people can murder for democracy
Like are you fucking kidding me?

Let's get together in the world
Enjoying our fries all curled
Sharing bonds and making love
Alongside eagle, bear and dove

Let's stand up and speak out loud
Make your descendants feeling proud

Wake up.

Sort:  

Hi @instancex, I like the poem. Nice rhymes too! I get the sentiment. :)

Thank you @patrick-g, writing it helped me deflect some of my resentment :-)