Mars in Progress: pick a piece for me to finish!

in #art6 years ago

Hello steemians, I’m back with a previously unknown weird witty title (I tell myself) to ask for your input/ vote on a piece to pursue and properly finish.

So, I’ll be sharing a few pages/sections from some sketches I’ve done since the end of December~ My goal will be to have a fully polished piece in traditional mediums, by the end of February. I want to be realistic with myself and not be too fast or too slow for my first project like this. I will be posting regular progress updates as well as proper scans of the winning sketches.

I’d like to take a week I suppose for voting, as I’ve never done this before and am still extremely confused by new systems. I’m sure I just need a few research sessions to get familiarized but going one step at a time here!
On a separate note yes I am open to pointers just not on this post for now probably haaa

A) live sketching/candid portrait of a friend. My concern here is wether to stick with a live candidacy or if I should look at working from videos/photos I’ve taken of her. A visit unfortunately will not be possible for a while :(

2C895160-012B-4577-ABD1-3EC6EE9304A8.jpeg

DF0F8BEA-90D2-4389-8659-4BC8FB4D2AB6.jpeg

And then of course another debate - more comic or realistic style? I haven’t done too many of either in so long!

264EBF20-59B4-4E18-9625-47C569D5EB1F.jpeg

B) working on stories and illustrations, is like to evolve some of my personal fiction non-fiction cryptids and mementos. I’m not the most familiar with insects so I know I’ll be doing more studies on that and landscapes to fit whatever I’ve got implied there haha. Also, I know the words aren’t really legible - yet! If you can read it, awesome, but it’s not edited yet and I’d be dedicating this time to polishing that up as well, of course.

49992FBC-BEE0-4613-93E7-77DCC9E92ED7.jpeg

2B940969-18B7-4486-9859-825B713A5099.jpeg

C) finally I did some quick movie portrait sketches. The first was my summary of Bright, in most common expressions. I felt like it captured the essence of their interactions too. The second page is from when I caught a short 15 minutes of the movie Princess Bride at a friends’ house; something about her expression really resonated with me (when she hears of an unfortunate ‘accident’). Both of these would have me rewatch the movies and pick a few expressions and then create a cohesive summary illustration - portrait possibly with background work.
I am also open to other movie suggestions, though likely for a future time!

8786717E-783D-4910-BDAC-16F3B9FB532B.jpeg

29371F03-D64E-4894-A49A-38D0924E8965.jpeg

Anyways hopefully I haven’t ranted too much, thank you for reading through to the end! Let me know your thoughts in the comments and even share this if you feel like it~

thank you for your time🙏🏼

Mx.Mars

Sort:  

Good sketck

Thanks! Did you have any one in particular that stood out?