Art concept: Planning before drawing ✔️✍️

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Brain storming💡🗯️
This first step is crucial. It will decide the final outcome of your art.

This deals with:
📎 What are you going to draw?
📎 What does your drawing represent?
📎 How are you going to draw it?
📎 Are there certain techniques and effects that you want to use to express better?
📎 What message/impact would you want your art to have?

There are many other questions to ask to make sure you have thought of the best way to create your art.

(1) Reference Photos 🖼️

I was collecting ideas for a new art piece I am starting (not going to say what for, surprise)
Anyway, these are the pictures I've decided to use.
PhotoGrid_1522774112412.jpg
model: Jessel Cane

Know what you want to draw and collect photos for reference.

You might get copyright issues from photographers if you use their photos without permission. So, I asked my friends if they wanted to volunteer to be an art subject.

So, I know what I want to draw now. ✅

The theme revolves on Mindanao island in the Philippines. So the elements I gathered:
💡 Waling waling flower (orchid) which is endemic to mindanao
💡A woman wearing Filipiniana outfit/ethnic attire (my friend)

I wanted to focus on the aesthetic side and with flowers which I am most familiar with.

PhotoGrid_1522774495187.jpg

I also collected others as a back up.

IMG_20180404_102937_419.jpg
Model: Jessel Cane
You need a lot of options. Some variations and make sure the image is clear, if not, you can edit the sharpness and contrast.

received_10214342701192988.jpeg
model: Jessel Cane
Filipiñana attire in sepia.

IMG_20180402_213741_227.jpg
@jacinta.sevilla and Jamila Canonigo
I am wearing a maranao/maranaw tribe outfit, my friend is wearing manobo outfit.

FB_IMG_1522582493424.jpg
Jamila, Adonis and Pikot

FB_IMG_1522561703144.jpg
Model: Pamela Janson
Photography by: Eden Licayan
Image Credit

I asked my other friends too.

FB_IMG_1522561949223.jpg

Pam again, she is wearing a manobo beaded outfit.

(2) Know the size and surface of your art✏️💭

First of all you must decide on

  • Size of your art
  • What surface and medium you want to use?

IMG_20180404_183055_534.jpg

I have sketched a frame size, matting and the actual size of the artwork.

(3) Medium and Materials 📎🗯️

Medium and materials will provide you the right feel and effect you want to achieve.

✨I wanted to create a soft and calm feel to my art.
✨ Something easy, preferably dry media which I am used to.
✨ Something colorful and something that will stand out.

yesterday

I bought some supplies
IMG_20180403_202836.jpg

To make an art effect that will look like this!
FB_IMG_1522773448196.jpg

Medium: oil pastels.
So it's soft and like a painting, only it's manipulated like a pen or dry media.

(4) CREATE

I've pretty much decided what to draw and how to do it.
What's left is conquering the medium.

WIP photo
IMG_20180404_134830_482.jpg

Still getting a hang of it.

🎨 messy and difficult but it still has a very pleasant effect.

IMG_20180404_141031_029.jpg
Hmmm, any thoughts?

Layering is pretty easy since it mixes and the colors just go over the other.

(5) FINISH IT!

IMG_20180403_213531_693.jpg

To be continued

It's a long journey for me. I hope I make it!

wish me blessings! 🎨🗯️

Also, as a goodbye message:
20180313_145342.gif

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

Please don't copy/distribute photos!
That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
PhotoGrid_1522833954880.jpg
received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I'm a fan of your artworks just had this opportunity to catch you on my feeds and definitely dropped by.

Thank you for sharing the basic principles.
I love using craypas for monochromatic effect purposes. Though you solidified the idea of using it to make objects looked more precise. Let's hope for the best!

That's so kind of you to say soooooo :)
I appreciate it very much!

I hope I pull this off. :)
God bless you

Keep steeming!

People who liked this post also liked:

My first ever blog at bitlanders after abandoning the site for more than 5 months by @long888

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Oh dear, so much work needed just to prepare this...
Hope to see the result soon!

Yes it is a lengthy process just selecting from what you can draw
Working in it.
Thanks ✍️♥️

Welcome dear.
Followed you, so will check in on you soon!

Thanks @jacinta.sevilla for sharing this.I know nothing about creating art, but with what you have shared,I was able to picture myself in the art world!

Wow so happy to hear that! If you do make some art woaaa let me seeee.
Thanks so much