Patchwork Orange, Digital Art for T-Shirts

in #art6 years ago

Patchwork Orange 600.jpg

Hi, hi, hi, Mr. Deltoid!

Hello and welcome to my first digital Vector art post in ages. So this one will be submitted to Cloudcity7 to be printed on T shirts and other apparel. I'm so happy to be doing this kind of thing again. I've had a bit of a break from the digital stuff. I think it's good to have a recharge after months of constant design.

So as we're getting closer to Halloween, I decided to do a ghoulish design. And as you can see, I based the design on the iconic Clockwork Orange novel cover. It's quite a lot different from the filmposter and has a cartoon, Vectorish look.

book.jpg

The original design is actually pretty awesome and lots of fun to emulate. I started off doing a drawing on top of the original.

1.jpg

Once the pencilling was done, I began tracing the image on Affinity Designer, my go to Vector Program. If you've used Adobe illustrator, you'll love Affinity.

2.jpg

Once all the curves ''paths'' are complete, I start the fun part. I love coloring on Affinity Designer. It has loads of 3D fx and lighting but I decided to go with a nice flat design.

3.jpg

Finally, I reverse the image and take a good look at it. Your brain can see things a bit differently when an image is reversed. It can be a good way to see mistakes and also notice ways that that the design can be improved.

backwards.jpg

There you have it!

Patchwork Orange Final stages.jpg

Hope you liked my T shirt design. I'd very much like to know what you thought about it. Feel free to leave any comments or feedback :)

my logo3.jpg

Sort:  

I really like this movie and the book, too, and it's so wonderful to see your zombiefying it for halloweentober <3 <3 <3 Really lovely, clean colours, the step by step is presented well, too <3

I have already voted for you.
Can I invite you to pay attention to my new project? Resteem and upvote my first post can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery.
Steem Express online | Resteem and upvote can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery

Cool design based on a great movie. I also dabble in vector art.

Sweet stuff James! Real funky ! I love it ! Also great to see your drawing on Dada.nyc! guess the Halloween is coming ;D

I like what you added. It's a three piece band!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Cool design! :)

Creepy and perfect for Halloween! The pink worm coming out of its ear is an eye catcher :)

Congratulations @jameshsmitharts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!