Affordable Minature Original Artworks

in #art2 years ago (edited)

affordable-originals-minis.jpg
L-R, top to bottom: 'We Fall Only to Rise Again', 'Turtles All the way Up', 'Making Waves' and 'Even the Longest Winter Ends', original 3" x 3" mixed media paintings on upcycled card.


Like most self-representing artists, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about - and experimenting with - the pricing of my originals.

Over the last 12+ years, I’ve listed work low, high, and everything in between 🙃 It's a tricky subject that causes every artist I've ever met pause for considerable thought, and often a degree of confusion...

One thing I’m absolutely SURE of, however, is that ORIGINAL ART is a JOY to live with. It really matters to me that whoever resonates most deeply with a piece of my work should be able to hook up with it regardless of their current level of disposable income.

Living with an original work of art is somewhat akin to having a live performance on your wall versus listening to an mp3 (in the case of a print). An original painting is a vibrantly alive original creation - unrepeatable, uniquely nuanced, and absolutely irreplaceable.

One way of ensuring that art is available to all is to paint across a wide range of sizes, thereby creating art with a wide selection of price points.

rememberwhatyouare.jpg

'Remember what You Are'. Mixed media on 3" x 3" upcycled card.


I know a number of people whose lives are brightened by the presence of mini original art in their home, who would otherwise have been unlikely to stretch to an original art purchase... and that makes me really happy! 💜

"Together forever: “Stand or Fall” and “End of the Road” hanging on my wall and in my heart. I purchased these pieces from my dear friend @jaytaylorart during a rough time in my life. I made it to the other side and have never had so much peace in my heart. Thank you my friend 💜" Christine, USA

Some of the advantages of these miniature artworks are:

  • I LOVE creating them - they're so much fun!
  • they're convenient to work on and easy to ship safely
  • they're a great way to make owning original art possible across a wide spectrum of budgets.
  • smaller works allow most people to live with original art
  • they make it easy to build up a collection over time WHATEVER your financial circumstances.
  • they look beautiful together in clusters large or small
  • they're wonderfully complimentary when placed around larger works

birdsinherheart-throughtimeandspace.jpg
'Birds in her Heart' and 'Through Time and Space', Mixed Media on 3" x 3" upcycled card.


In honour of the urge to share more original art with the world, I’m making the mini artworks in my online shop even MORE affordable! I hope you’ll check the new prices out and let me know what you think! If you see ‘yours’ on sale but still don’t have the finances to invest right now, reach out and let’s talk about how we can get it to you anyway!

I am also happy to exchange art for BTC or Hive currencies - please email [email protected] to arrange this 💜

With love,

Jay 💜💚💜

standorfall-endoftheroad.jpg

'Stand or Fall' and 'The End of the Road', by Jay Taylor. Both Mixed media on 3" x 3" upcycled card. (Both sold)

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Thank you! Much appreciated x

the minies are great! I love the painted rocks by the way too.

Thank you! 😊 I love them, toooooo!!!! 😍 Lovely to hear from you, @senorcoconut 🤗

Hey thanks, it's been a while! I do come around once in a while still.

Yeah, I have a history of drifting in and out of the Hive/Steemit-collective, too... It's really good to get back in touch with people here whenever I return - I have very few forward-thinking individuals around me in real life at the moment, so I thought I'd check back in here and see whether anyone in the Hive is alive - everyone 'out here' seems to be turning more and more zombie-AI-minionised 😌 Thanks again for stopping by, my friend - much appreciated! :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupcurator(2/7) tipped @jaytaylor (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thank you 🙌

Dear @jaytaylor, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community and is close to be funded. However, it misses a few votes to get past the return proposal and your could make the difference!

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you!