Untitled. Oil on canvas, 2009. Chiaroscuro technique of light and dark.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Starting up this blog has sent me down a long path looking through old works and photographs. It's easy to get carried away sometimes! I came across this oil piece I did for my final exam in my last year of school. Things have moved a long way since then but this was a nice reminder of the journey my art has taken since I was 18. Also a reminder of new beginnings. Who knows where this new blogging adventure will take me.

Essentially this project was about the study of 'chiaroscuro', which is a word for how dramatic light and dark are used in a painting. It was a technique developed during the Rennaissance and used a lot by painters such as Rembrandt and Caravaggio. I've always enjoyed the use of contrast and also why I like black and white photography. To give you an idea about the meaning behind the painting, I was trying to create a picture that represented the racist nature of our history by placing a white skinned subject in the light and a black skinned subject in the shadows. Two people that live together on one planet but have been separated by the harsh contrasts of human nature.

I didn't actually have enough time to finish it as I'd like to have done but was still happy with the results nonetheless. Let me know what you think! Oil paint is a great medium and I still feel I haven't fully explored its use.

Painting1.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @jedh484! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!