Painting - The making of "The Book of an Engineer"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20180118_183229.jpg

                               **کتاب المہندس**
                   **The Book of an Engineer**

This piece of an art is basically my 3rd time with a canvas and oil paint. It was pretty challeging for me as previously I had done on a canvas smaller than this, 12"×12" and 12"×18".

This is on a cotton fabric canvas of dimesions 24"×18".

THE PROCESS
To be honest when I first had a this canvas infront me I had no idea what to paint. It was like my mind ceased, no ideas, completely balnk.
Then I thought of going abstract. So I picked up the pencil and started drawing lines all over the canvas, it was pretty tiresome.
20180116_185304.jpg

The idea was to make shapes, all of them. Bieng an engineer it seems completely fit to make a painting which comprises of all the shapes there is and designs. So I decided to go on with it.

20180116_223922.jpg

Even though I had handled brush couple of times before but this time it was different, Different so previously I hadn't been much precise and careful while painting on but this time I had to be precise and to stay between the lines. It was pretty tough but so does every work.

20180117_002741.jpg

While painting, I had this crazy idea of Cryptography that why not I hide some words inside it. So I decided to do it. There was only one word that was keep coming in my mind at that point, it wasn't actually any word but name, the name of my crush. I know it was pretty childish but I decided to hide the name of my crush inside. So deciphered the name in Greek and Japenese, made an anagram of it and placed it in the paint.

20180117_183828.jpg
Later on, I decided to put another name in the painting. As today was the death anniversery of one of my favourite fiction writer Saddat Hassan famously known as Manto so I added Manto as a tribute to legendary writer.

20180117_203100.jpg

The whole experience was pretty amazing and very very tiresome. I took me 10+ hours to complete the painting but I would say every single minute was worth it.
Once again here was the end result.

20180118_183229.jpg

Hope you liked it. Don't forget to upvote and also drop by your commenta and suggestions.
Thanks

Follow @jehanzeb4u for more.