A wonderful day: massage, art and the lake!

in #art7 years ago

blue-and-black-back.jpg
BLACK AND BLUE, India ink on paper by Jennifer Hosein

In the following photo, I am standing in front of a life-sized print of my painting, BLACK AND BLUE, shown above, post-massage at the brand new ATINAMA MASSAGE THERAPY clinic in Toronto, Canada. I have, in Monica's words, "massage-brain". I am also floppy-limbed and totally de-stressed!
My best buddy, Monica, is the owner and a registered massage therapist there, and she is the best RMT I have ever known. The first time I had a treatment with her, in 2012, I saw colors, etc., which I went home and interpreted in a painting. That happened yesterday, too, and I was up until the wee hours painting and writing. The painting, BLACK AND BLUE, is part of a series, WRITTEN ON THE BODY, which I began post-automobile accident a couple of years ago, after which I was in a lot of pain, and it became all about the body. I saw Monica for many treatments in the months following the accident, and she helped me a great deal.

IMG_1257.JPG

Before my massage, I had an errand that took me to the west end of the city, and on the way back stopped at Humber Bay Park on Lake Ontario for a little R & R. Some ducks are feeding on the moss just off the rocks

IMG_1228.JPG

and in the distance you can see the City of Toronto.

IMG_1220.JPG

And below is one of the paintings I worked on last night, getting near to completion maybe, another in the series WRITTEN ON THE BODY.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

It was a great day (and night!)

All artwork is mine and all photos taken by me on a Nikon D3200 or an iPhone 6.

If you liked this post, please upvote, follow and comment!

Sort:  

Great painting - as long as you weren't black and blue after the massage!

Haha! Just a teenie bit!! Thank you!

Great story. Great art. Congratulations on your talent and success.

Thank you so much!

Aww what a lovely day! I love that Monica put up your work in her new clinic! :D

Thanks! Yes, it looks great and it's now life size!

what a beautiful painting. ;)

Thank you! I am happy to be a part of the New Steemians project!